Trying To Compile Small Lan Maps.

Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Compile errors make me sad.</div> I'm trying to compile my first map, but I get errors of the likes:

<span style='color:purple'>Error: Entity 0, Brush 1421: outside world(+/-4096): (-10281,-2270,-416)-(-1448,4400,10294)
Error: Entity 0, Brush 1420: outside world(+/-4096): (-10297,-2318,-416)-(-1448,4363,10305)</span>

I have about 100 of these errors.

Okay, lets see how I can help myself:
Taken from Zoner's compile errors:

<span style='color:red'>The first is an damaged brush...If any of the coordinates are -9000 or 9000, then the brush is damaged...</span>

So, no +-9000 coordinates, means no damage.

<span style='color:red'>The second most common case is actually having a brush near or outside the edge of the allowable region for the world</span>

Okay, so I moved my brushes around (they were kinda close to the edge). Now there is at least 256 units between my brushes and the void.

Same errors.

Help?

Comments

  • FlowFlow Join Date: 2003-11-15 Member: 22906Members
    Map -> Go To Brush Number -> type in the Brushnumbers and see whats wrong with the Brush (or easily delete it -> build new one)
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    edited May 2004
    You have damaged brushes!

    search for "invalid solid structures" in Hammer.



    here some class 11 geometry explaining whats invalid for the editor:

    - Each brush must be convex (like a "D" ) and can not be concave (like a "P") so that no faces could see each other because all faces look away from the center of the brush.
    <img src='http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/oswebsite/images/userImages/misc/education/convex-concave.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image' />
    - one face with more than 3 sides must be komplanar (=in the same plane / flat) and not be curved. Then its undetermined if that face is convex or concave.
    - two diferent faces can not be complanar, you must turn them into one face (like two triangles into one flat square).
    - there are various other possible errors that happen during vertex manipulation. Hammer is stone age and sometimes faces flip or dissapear completely without any sense.

    whenever a brush / solid structure is invalid its corner points get moved randomly untill it becomes a valid brush. This causes leaks and brushes of infinite (or too big) size, that reach outside the editors space of [ -4000 to +4000 ].
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    edited May 2004
    I know brushes cant be concave, that's why you need multiple brushes to make a "concave shape". But my brushs aren't concave.. or are they?

    Here is an exemple.

    P.S. Thanks for the prompt reply.
    I just noticed, when I move around in the 3d textured viewport, my brush's texture are all messy. Like when 2 brushes are overlapping... I'm thinking hammer "broke" my brushes when I used the vertex manipulation tool?
  • brute_forcebrute_force Join Date: 2003-10-04 Member: 21433Members, Constellation
    If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map.
  • DarkATiDarkATi Revelation 22:17 Join Date: 2003-06-20 Member: 17532Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=55406' target='_blank'>Common Errors & Problems w/ Solutions Thread</a>

    ~ DarkATi
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 11 2004, 07:44 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 11 2004, 07:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    none of these
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited May 2004
    it can also be a brush which is to close to the edge of the map. I did a test once and it seems 32grid is the minimim distance between the edge of the mapping area and the brushes

    nm just read your second read quote <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->The second most common case is actually having a brush near or outside the edge of the allowable region for the world

    Okay, so I moved my brushes around (they were kinda close to the edge). Now there is at least 256 units between my brushes and the void.
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
  • WolvWolv Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 56Members
    It's definately an illegal brush, the values close to +/- 10,000 are telltale signs of that.
    In QuArK you can't create illegal brushes so as a QuArK user I don't have much experience with finding them but I do know two methods that can help:

    First, export the file in .map format and load that .map file up in WC/VHE again. Brushes that are way distorted are the illegal ones and should be deleted (perhaps alt+p can now find them automatically).

    If that doesn't work, you can allways download and install <a href='http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/quark/quark-win32-6.4.0alpha3.exe?download' target='_blank'>QuArK</a>. Open the .map file exported in WC/VHE and any illegal brushes will automatically be detected. Make sure they are deleted and export as a .map file in QuArK for WC/VHE to load.

    Note that there are many more types of illegal brushes then just concave ones, such as non-flat faces and multiple vertices on the same location. Whenever using vertex manipulation be <u>very</u> sure you know what you're doing.
  • brute_forcebrute_force Join Date: 2003-10-04 Member: 21433Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-Uh-Oh+May 13 2004, 12:37 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Uh-Oh @ May 13 2004, 12:37 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 11 2004, 07:44 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 11 2004, 07:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    none of these <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Ok, I had an error exactly like this. Same error, but nothing in alt+p. What I did was I went to Map > Go To Brush Number, entered the number given to me by the compiler and pressed OK. I deleted that brush and it worked. Try that.
  • DarkATiDarkATi Revelation 22:17 Join Date: 2003-06-20 Member: 17532Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 13 2004, 09:01 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 13 2004, 09:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Uh-Oh+May 13 2004, 12:37 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Uh-Oh @ May 13 2004, 12:37 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 11 2004, 07:44 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 11 2004, 07:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    none of these <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Ok, I had an error exactly like this. Same error, but nothing in alt+p. What I did was I went to Map > Go To Brush Number, entered the number given to me by the compiler and pressed OK. I deleted that brush and it worked. Try that. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Like it says in the Stickied Topic above. Meh poor guide gets no use... <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=55406' target='_blank'>Common Errors & Problems w/ Solutions Thread</a>

    ~ DarkATi
  • brute_forcebrute_force Join Date: 2003-10-04 Member: 21433Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-DarkATi+May 13 2004, 05:00 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (DarkATi @ May 13 2004, 05:00 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 13 2004, 09:01 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 13 2004, 09:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Uh-Oh+May 13 2004, 12:37 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Uh-Oh @ May 13 2004, 12:37 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 11 2004, 07:44 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 11 2004, 07:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    none of these <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Ok, I had an error exactly like this. Same error, but nothing in alt+p. What I did was I went to Map > Go To Brush Number, entered the number given to me by the compiler and pressed OK. I deleted that brush and it worked. Try that. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Like it says in the Stickied Topic above. Meh poor guide gets no use... <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=55406' target='_blank'>Common Errors & Problems w/ Solutions Thread</a>

    ~ DarkATi <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    lol, yeah <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • DarkATiDarkATi Revelation 22:17 Join Date: 2003-06-20 Member: 17532Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 13 2004, 11:17 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 13 2004, 11:17 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-DarkATi+May 13 2004, 05:00 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (DarkATi @ May 13 2004, 05:00 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 13 2004, 09:01 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 13 2004, 09:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Uh-Oh+May 13 2004, 12:37 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Uh-Oh @ May 13 2004, 12:37 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-ShdwStal+May 11 2004, 07:44 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (ShdwStal @ May 11 2004, 07:44 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you press alt+p, you should be able to find "Invalid solid structure" if there are any incorrect brushes somewhere in the map. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    none of these <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Ok, I had an error exactly like this. Same error, but nothing in alt+p. What I did was I went to Map > Go To Brush Number, entered the number given to me by the compiler and pressed OK. I deleted that brush and it worked. Try that. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Like it says in the Stickied Topic above. Meh poor guide gets no use... <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=55406' target='_blank'>Common Errors & Problems w/ Solutions Thread</a>

    ~ DarkATi <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    lol, yeah <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Oh think it's funny do you!?!?!111

    LOL, j/k

    ~ DarkATi
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    well now it just got funny DarkATi <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    I've been using your guide DarkATI don't worry. But this one seems to be a bugger. <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • WolvWolv Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 56Members
    Uh-Oh, are you saying QuArK can't detect an illegal brush and it still gives this error? Very odd indeed. Only illegal brushes in QuArK I know of are microbrushes. Though I doubt WC's non-floating point system can create these brushes, you can check to be sure under <i>search</i> -> <i>find microbrushes</i>. You can also try the <i>Broken polys and faces</i> option in the search meny, though these should automatically be highlighted upon opening the .map file, and the <i>Find thin faces</i> option and see if that marks some extra brushes.

    DarkATi, there's a format to allow hyperlinks within your forum posts, as used in the Mapping forum FAQ:
    <!--QuoteBegin-XP-Cagey+--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (XP-Cagey)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Quick note: for those of you making long resource posts for others to use, I added a tag to IPB when I made the new FAQ that allows you to jump to any spot in a post with a mouse click.

    To make a link target in your post, use the [anchor="<target_name>"] tag and close the tag after your text.

    To jump to your target, use the url tag like [url="#<target_name>"] (make sure to add the '#' to the beginning of the url).

    You need to close both tags, like this:


    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    [anchor="my_target"]My target[/anchor]
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ...
    Jump to [url="#my_target"]my target[/url]
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->


    I used the new anchor tag for both the links at the top and the "return to top" link after each question. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
  • AvitarAvitar Join Date: 2003-09-11 Member: 20760Members
    A quick fix:

    Export your map to a .map format.

    Close your map.

    Open the .map file.

    By default the .map format will not load invalid brushes.

    Now rebuild all the missing brushes.

    You have a lot of invalid brushes so you should be carefull so there are no leaks when you use this trick.
  • Uh-OhUh-Oh Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6917Members
    I have used all kinds of exporting, saving opening .rmf and .map files, all of these have deleted some brushes (1-7 at a times). I rebuilt those brushes, but now I gots me the leaks.. when I have a more relaxed work schedule (I hate working 12 hours a day <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->) I'll get back to mapping.. for now.. sllllleeeepppp.

    Thanks all
Sign In or Register to comment.