Compiling Help

GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
Hey I need some help please, Its saying this when I try and compile "**ERROR** Model has to many vertexes" What does this mean? And does anyone know how to fix it?

Comments

  • DelarosaDelarosa Naturally Custom Join Date: 2002-11-29 Member: 10214Members, NS1 Playtester
    this means that milkshape thinks that you are trying to break the HL engine.

    there are two ways around this...

    Easy Way:

    download and atempt to compile via MS-Dos using the studiomdl.exe file

    Faster non-msdos way:

    in the QC file, you should find the following:

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//reference mesh(es)
    $body "studio" "<whatever>_ref"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    delete half of the model, and export that to a second reference mesh, edit undo, and select the other half, delete it and export it to a seperate reference smd.

    edit your QC to look like this:

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//reference mesh(es)
    $body "studio" "<first>_ref"
    $body "studio" "<second>_ref"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
  • GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
    Eh I can't understand what yor saying, here's what I do.


    Open the .3dsmax file in lith unwrap, file> save as .3ds milkshape
    Open the model in milkshape, click joint and add a joint anywhere, I go the joint tab and click select unassigned, then I click assign to the joint I added earlier.
    Then I go to materials tab, click one of the two materials, and click where is says <none> and import the 512x512 .bmp texture rgb mode, 256 color texture, for each one. Then I go to File>export>Half-Life SMD save it as glock, and click reference. Then I File>export>half-life SMD and save it as glock_idle and choose sequence, then I go to Tools> Half-Life generate .qc file, name it glock and open it. then I do everything like a normal compile, replacing sequence in each with what I saved them as. Then I click compile .qc and I get the error. Tell me what I'm doing wrong? I think it might be the texture importing, The last time I compiled a model it worked and I did all these steps <b>Except</b> importing the textures, they were done for me. So maybe I'm screwing up there.
  • DelarosaDelarosa Naturally Custom Join Date: 2002-11-29 Member: 10214Members, NS1 Playtester
    how many polygons does your model have?
  • GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
    I don't know, I'll have to ask my friend, I'm just doing a small compile, so It's easier to skin. I don't plan on giving it any animations yet.
  • DelarosaDelarosa Naturally Custom Join Date: 2002-11-29 Member: 10214Members, NS1 Playtester
    if you are able to post it up, i'll compile a W_ model for you...
  • CaptainPanakaCaptainPanaka Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4718Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Delarosa+May 26 2004, 05:31 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Delarosa @ May 26 2004, 05:31 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> this means that milkshape thinks that you are trying to break the HL engine.

    there are two ways around this...

    Easy Way:

    download and atempt to compile via MS-Dos using the studiomdl.exe file

    Faster non-msdos way:

    in the QC file, you should find the following:

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//reference mesh(es)
    $body "studio" "<whatever>_ref"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    delete half of the model, and export that to a second reference mesh, edit undo, and select the other half, delete it and export it to a seperate reference smd.

    edit your QC to look like this:

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//reference mesh(es)
    $body "studio" "<first>_ref"
    $body "studio" "<second>_ref"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I also had the same problem yesterday and fixed it by using the 2nd solution <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Delarosa+May 26 2004, 01:01 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Delarosa @ May 26 2004, 01:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> if you are able to post it up, i'll compile a W_ model for you... <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks, but the W model or P isn't really important, Like I said, I just need V .mdl for skinning, I'll try and get the poly count from my friend tomorrow. Did I do the texture thing right? Is there supposed to be indexed color? or somethin?
  • CaptainPanakaCaptainPanaka Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4718Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-[GL]FattyTheGorge+May 26 2004, 09:32 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([GL]FattyTheGorge @ May 26 2004, 09:32 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Delarosa+May 26 2004, 01:01 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Delarosa @ May 26 2004, 01:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> if you are able to post it up, i'll compile a W_ model for you... <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks, but the W model or P isn't really important, Like I said, I just need V .mdl for skinning, I'll try and get the poly count from my friend tomorrow. Did I do the texture thing right? Is there supposed to be indexed color? or somethin? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Textures in HL must be 256 colors <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
    Yeah how do I check if its 256 colors... I have it 8 bit RGB color mode, maybe I should put it to indexed?
  • DelarosaDelarosa Naturally Custom Join Date: 2002-11-29 Member: 10214Members, NS1 Playtester
    <!--QuoteBegin-[GL]FattyTheGorge+May 26 2004, 03:20 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([GL]FattyTheGorge @ May 26 2004, 03:20 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Yeah how do I check if its 256 colors... I have it 8 bit RGB color mode, maybe I should put it to indexed? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    indexed it is...
  • GLFattyTheGorgeGLFattyTheGorge Join Date: 2004-02-13 Member: 26511Members
    Yeah I try putting it indexed, then loading it up and I get

    Error loading texture:
    Error Downloading Material:

    And If i try and do a reference it crashes
  • shenkshenk Join Date: 2004-05-29 Member: 28977Members
    edited May 2004
    i'm new to milkshape, is there someone that could explain how I start and then delete the alien's attacking animation and the firing marine animations?

    are there any already made NS models that delete it? it would be good

    thanks in advance
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    No, I'm not telling you how to delete the skulk bite animation even though I know how. kthx.

    You wouldn't be able to play on a server with consistency checking anyway.
Sign In or Register to comment.