Upgrade Selection Script

TyrNemesisTyrNemesis trigger_CUT! Join Date: 2003-09-17 Member: 20942Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
edited September 2004 in NS Customization
I found myself running low on keys to the point where I could no longer afford to have all my alien upgrade selections bound to keys. So, to make things more efficient, I wrote this script to allow you to pick any alien upgrade which uses a total of four keys (INS, HOME, DEL, and END)

<!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->// Upgrade selection script by TyrNemesis^
bind "ins" "seledef"
bind "home" "selemov"
bind "del" "selesen"
bind "end" "seleend"

alias "seledef" "bind ins defrege; bind del defcara; bind home defrede"
alias "selemov" "bind ins movadre; bind del movcele; bind home movsile"
alias "selesen" "bind ins sensofe; bind del senfocu; bind home sencloa"
alias "seleend" "bind ins seledef; bind home selemov; bind del selesen"

alias "defcara" "impulse 101; seleend"
alias "defrege" "impulse 102; seleend"
alias "defrede" "impulse 103; seleend"
alias "movcele" "impulse 107; seleend"
alias "movadre" "impulse 108; seleend"
alias "movsile" "impulse 109; seleend"
alias "sencloa" "impulse 110; seleend"
alias "senfocu" "impulse 111; seleend"
alias "sensofe" "impulse 112; seleend"
// End Script<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

The attached image shows which keys do what. For instance, if you wanted Cloaking, you'd hit DEL, HOME. For Carapace, you'd hit INS, DEL. Etc.

Enjoy!

Comments

  • ScytheScythe Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 46NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Constellation, Reinforced - Silver
    If only there was a way to bring up the correct section of the popup menu. I'd use this but I'd get lost pretty quickly.

    --Scythe--
  • DragonMechDragonMech Join Date: 2003-09-19 Member: 21023Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    A handy piece of coding ya got there. I just might try it. My new gamepad has a 4-way directional pad - a match made in heaven?
  • RadagastRadagast Join Date: 2003-06-29 Member: 17776Members, Constellation
    why dont you just hold your menu and find the correct upgrade? its prob faster and easier than looking for del,ins and home anyway :\
  • SinSpawnSinSpawn Harbinger of Suffering Join Date: 2002-11-12 Member: 8359Members
    Jeeze that looks complicated :/

    Well my way only takes up 6 keys <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo--> and much easier I think.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->bind "F3" "def"
    bind "F4" "mov"
    bind "F5" "sen"

    alias def "exec defense.cfg;developer 1;echo Defense Upgrades;wait;developer 1;echo Scripts made by SinSpawn"

    alias mov "exec movement.cfg;developer 1;echo Movement Upgrades;wait;developer 1;echo Scripts made by SinSpawn"

    alias sen "exec sensory.cfg;developer 1;echo Sensory Upgrades;wait;developer 1;echo Scripts made by SinSpawn"


    bind ins cara
    alias cara "impulse 101;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Carapace]"

    bind "home" regen
    alias regen "impulse 102;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Regeneration]"

    bind "pgup" redempt
    alias redempt "impulse 103;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Redemption]"

    bind ins cloak
    alias cloak " "impulse 110;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Cloaking]"

    bind home focus
    alias focus "impulse 111;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Focus]"

    bind "pgup" sof
    alias sof "impulse 112;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Scent of Fear]"

    bind "ins" celerity
    alias celerity "impulse 107;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Celerity]"

    bind "home" adren
    alias adren "impulse 108;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Adrenaline]"

    bind "pgup" silence
    alias silence "impulse 109;developer 1;echo Upgrading [Silence]"<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    so that means I just need to press f3 = Def changes my ins/home/pageup buttons to the 3 def upgrades, and same to the movement and sensory.

    This is kinda old, lazy to adjust, but this works alot better when developer stille worked.
  • CaptainPanakaCaptainPanaka Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4718Members
    hm... I'm still using the popup menu... is fast enough for me <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wow.gif' /><!--endemo-->
    oh and... iirc isn't echo "working" anymore... <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wink-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • EndEnd Join Date: 2003-11-11 Member: 22566Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited September 2004
    nice TyrNemesis^
    I am useing it now <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • -Drake--Drake- -dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ- Join Date: 2003-04-02 Member: 15125Members
    could u not already bind them to keys ?
  • SinSpawnSinSpawn Harbinger of Suffering Join Date: 2002-11-12 Member: 8359Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-CaptainPanaka+Sep 18 2004, 05:37 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (CaptainPanaka @ Sep 18 2004, 05:37 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> hm... I'm still using the popup menu... is fast enough for me <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wow.gif' /><!--endemo-->
    oh and... iirc isn't echo "working" anymore... <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wink-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink-fix.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    echo no work.

    and yes you could drake, but all upgrades would consume 9 keys :O
  • -Drake--Drake- -dn ʎɐʍ sıɥʇ- Join Date: 2003-04-02 Member: 15125Members
    meh i suppose i just binded the 1s i use (silence/regen/clerity)
  • coolrider6ncoolrider6n Join Date: 2004-09-24 Member: 31907Members
    edited September 2004
    I'm working on one that has menu and just uses up 1 key... Once you remember the keys for the upgrades its pretty useful. Ill post it in a few seconds.

    EDITED: Here you go. It is not blockable by the new NS script blocker. Uses just 1 key and has a menu. Its just pretty much a improvement of TyrNemesis^ script.

    To install put in C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\(e-mail)\half-life\ns
    Defualt key is J
    If you want to change the binded key type in console "bind key +commandmenu"
  • Fox_OneFox_One Join Date: 2003-01-15 Member: 12310Members
    edited September 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin-Radagast+Sep 18 2004, 06:02 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Radagast @ Sep 18 2004, 06:02 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> why dont you just hold your menu and find the correct upgrade? its prob faster and easier than looking for del,ins and home anyway :\ <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I dunno about you, but I already have those keys memorized. For me, tapping "INS INS" takes about .1 seconds...a bit less than navigating the menu.
  • KitkiKitki Join Date: 2004-04-04 Member: 27722Members
    Is it really that hard just to use the right click?
  • Mr_JeburtOMr_JeburtO Join Date: 2003-08-29 Member: 20340Members
  • BAshhBAshh Join Date: 2003-08-26 Member: 20222Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    seeing that you have to gestate to upgrade... you obviously need some free space as well as no rine's round. so i dont see the big deal of the popupmenu.

    that said, it's very nice and if i didnt forget easily, i'd use it. not to mention that home insert, del, and end arent near my hands... so yeah. regardless, good job mate
Sign In or Register to comment.