Destuckme-script For Ns-servers

j0nasj0nas Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9835Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Tired of getting stuck in buildings?</div> I noticed that it's pretty easy to get stuck inside buildings in NS, I've accidentally stuck the very same player inside three different buildings while commanding, so far!

So, I've written an AMX-script for servers that'll teleport stuck people to the nearest teammate who's not in combat, when the stuck player says '/stuck' in the chat.

Pop on over and download <a href='http://djeyl.net/amx-dl.php' target='_blank'>AMX</a> 0.7.3, then download the <a href='http://djeyl.net/amx-plugins.php?cat=3' target='_blank'>destuckme-script</a>.

AMX is a pretty damn handy scripting-language. Not all of the default plugins work with NS though, I'm just running the basic ban/kick commands, antiflood and destuckme on my server right now.

Comments

  • tlarmontlarmon Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8701Members
    edited November 2002
    Awesome job. This would help a lot for when newbies play ONOS and don't realize how easy it is to get stuck playing as ONOS.

    I will try to implement this on my server soon.
  • tlarmontlarmon Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8701Members
    Hrm.. you know, now that I think about it, this could be used as a cheat, too. If you're about to be attacked and know you don't stand a chance, you could use this if you had it bound to a key on your keyboard..

    That's not good :/
  • SuicideDogSuicideDog Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8104Members
    can anyone convert this to adminmod?
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    I was thinking about that too Tlarmon

    I was going to ask if I could convert it to Adminmod... except after you issue the command, it waits 5-10 secs before actually moving you, and when you issue it it also "sticks" you so you can't move. (Which isn't a problem when you are stuck already.

    The only problem is Adminmod has no way to determine if someone is currently in battle, so it'd have to just move them to the nearest teammate.

    What do you think?
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    Hrmm, it's a good idea, but I see it as a little too exploitable no matter how it's implemented.

    For now I think using kill is the only non-exploitable way to get around this...
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    Another idea (which I was going to start working on before the teams thing) was that instead of teleporting them to the nearest player, it'd give them noclip mode for one second, enough to move out of the object they are in.... of course this is probably even more exploitable <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    edited November 2002
    Yeah, I'd rather use the teleport option over the noclip option. Giving them the ability to simply slip into the floor to avoid a fight seems a little overly exploitable.
  • j0nasj0nas Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9835Members
    Maybe I should've mentioned that there's already a 10-second delay. It checks the health and position of the person being destuck, and the health of the person being moved to, to make sure neither has decreased. After completing the move it sets the moved persons health to 1 and armor to 0.

    I'm not too worried about people exploiting it. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • BitchSL4PBitchSL4P Join Date: 2002-08-04 Member: 1062Members, NS1 Playtester
    Interesting, how about the nearest built hive instead of a teammate though?

    -Slappy
  • j0nasj0nas Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9835Members
    Right now the plugin is not mod-specific, it will work with TFC, CS, NS, whatever mod you like as long as they stick to the basic scheme.

    I'd consider making it NS-specific, or adding special NS-functionality for hives and marine-spawns, but I can't since I have no idea how to track things such as hives and spawn-locations in NS with AMX, at least not without significant effort on my part.
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--j0nas+Nov 25 2002, 02:17 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (j0nas @ Nov 25 2002, 02:17 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Maybe I should've mentioned that there's already a 10-second delay. It checks the health and position of the person being destuck, and the health of the person being moved to, to make sure neither has decreased. After completing the move it sets the moved persons health to 1 and armor to 0.

    I'm not too worried about people exploiting it. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    LOL, okay, that sounds a little better! Nice work around for making the script less exploitable.

    although 10 seconds seems a little extream, I could just type kill into my console and come back in 5 seconds (usually) with full health and armor.
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    I don't like it moving them back to the hive/spawn... could be used by marines when commander does a "Main base under attack!!" cry.

    Otherwise, would you care if I tried to code a Adminmod version of this j0nas?
  • j0nasj0nas Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9835Members
    Not at all, it's GPL'ed to allow anyone to do what they please with the code, as long as their resulting code is also released to the public as GPL in turn.
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    Although I don't actively refer to the GPL in my code, I have studied it <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo--> I always release my source, because personally I hate to install precompiled binaries without knowing whats in them (but some people prefer them).

    Thanks again j0nas, I'll work on it this week.
  • j0nasj0nas Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9835Members
    I'm not sure how you mean, surely the GPL must be right up your alley as it requires the source-code to be made available together with the binary?
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    Yes, I mean I usually just don't get around to adding that GPL disclaimer to just the smallish source code programs I release. I really need to get in that habit. Of course I do add it to programs based on GPL code (which is required).
  • GelantiousGelantious Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2576Members, Constellation
    I must say, this is one great kick **obscenity** script <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Thanks alot! <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
Sign In or Register to comment.