Builder and compiler SDK

PipiPipi Join Date: 2009-12-09 Member: 69550Members
I'm not really good with all that stuff, i'm more the artist type and I was trying to figure out how this stuff works.

I'd like to import models in the prop library, if anyone knows more than me on that.. and that surely is anyone haha!

Comments

• Draco_2kDraco_2k Evil Genius Join Date: 2009-12-09 Member: 69546Members
    It's not possible yet.

I think there will be an export plugin for Max/Maya/Collada, and maybe a converter program. What we have now is the builder, which is like a batch converter, but it's not fully functional or documented yet. Pre-alpha and all.
  • ArkArk Join Date: 2009-08-15 Member: 68489Members
    We shoudn't need a exporter if the builder converts collada into .model files. Has anyone tested the builder yet?
  • PipiPipi Join Date: 2009-12-09 Member: 69550Members
    Yeah they said they would release something for Collada which is a good overall format.

I could see the files there: CompileModel.exe and ColladaMax.dle
    I thought that was it.. but couldn't figure how it worked because when you run the executable it's a dos shell and does pratically nothing
    and since my knownledge stops about there I thought maybe somebody did something with that in another way.

I'm supposing that the builder is to rebuild the editor program, if anyone wants to add or fix something in it.. (?)

Anyhow.. I still have time to work on my own props before I start adding them to my levels.
  • noncomposmentisnoncomposmentis Join Date: 2004-11-13 Member: 32773Members
    <a href="http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/news/2009/2/unknown_worlds_videocast_8_tools" target="_blank">Here's</a> a video on the viewer (which we don't have yet) and the builder.