A push in the right direction

DiscoDisco Join Date: 2011-06-15 Member: 104584Members
edited April 2012 in Ideas and Suggestions
<div class="IPBDescription">New player: How do I play this?</div>This might have already been discussed, and if it has, please forgive me.

I know that it does not take much to learn how to play Natural Selection 2, but shouldn't there be some sort of guide other than the wiki? I mean something ingame. It doesn't have to be advanced or highly detailed. It just needs to push the new guys in the right direction.

I have to be honest, when I started playing at first, I had no idea what my goal was. I thought that all I needed to do was run around and shoot stuff (sometimes that is the goal). I asked a friend and he said, "read the wiki." Easy enough right? Well some people including myself just want to learn the objective and get a few tips here and there. I know what some people are thinking. "Stop being lazy and read the wiki." I can understand that but the fact is when someone buys a game, they want to play it right away. They arent going to want to read something. It may sound ridiculous but its the truth. If they were to learn something, I believe it would be best ingame.

Here is the good news. I think I have found a solution. Have you ever seen a game where you pick something up and a small little sentence or two pops up in the corner of the screen just giving you a quick tip? Yeah, I think thats a good idea. Any way, does anyone else have an opinion?

Once again, if this has already been talked about or has been settled, I am sorry, have mercy on my soul.

Comments

• Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited April 2012