Optimization? max props? Max polygons and verts?

TontowTontow Join Date: 2012-11-14 Member: 171161Members
<div class="IPBDescription">The upper limits of Spark and How to make the game run a map better.</div>Is there a point where spark will crash when I compile a map? / What are the upper limits of the editor?

More to the point:
I have an ultra high end gaming computer. How would I tell when I have too big of a map or too much in one room?


Is there anything that can be done to optimize a map? Or are all map optimizations done automatically?

What did the devs use to make the maps for natural selection 2? (The alpha spark editor? If so then wow)


I have already gone over the PDFs that came with the game and watched the youtube tutorials, but have yet to find answers to these questions.

Comments

  • Rudy.czRudy.cz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145410Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2025677:date=Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM:name=Tontow)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Tontow @ Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025677"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Is there a point where spark will crash when I compile a map? / What are the upper limits of the editor?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Nope, the map doesnt need to compile. The same file you one in the editor is loaded by game. Limits are cca. 32.000 units from center.

    <!--quoteo(post=2025677:date=Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM:name=Tontow)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Tontow @ Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025677"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I have an ultra high end gaming computer. How would I tell when I have too big of a map or too much in one room?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    If you type r_stats in console you will get realtime graphical breakdown of current scene. Try to keep "draw calls" between 800-1500 for regular areas (see Summir) and under 2500 for with extreme fidelity (see Refinery). On low spec computer like mine (4 years old), with 1500 draw FPS drops starts occurning.

    <!--quoteo(post=2025677:date=Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM:name=Tontow)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Tontow @ Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025677"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Is there anything that can be done to optimize a map? Or are all map optimizations done automatically?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    To keep draw calls at bay, enclose your map in occlusion gemetry. Also not all lights should cas shadows, or should have low shadow fade rate.

    <!--quoteo(post=2025677:date=Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM:name=Tontow)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Tontow @ Nov 16 2012, 02:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025677"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->What did the devs use to make the maps for natural selection 2? (The alpha spark editor? If so then wow)<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    In you NS2 directory is a programm called "Launchpad" there you will find all the tools



    We really need FAQ, sigh...
  • TontowTontow Join Date: 2012-11-14 Member: 171161Members
    So then there are no brushes like in hammer (source sdk) that I can place to make the map run better?


    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->We really need FAQ, sigh...<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Or one really good youtube vide that covers everything.



    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE </div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->If you type r_stats in console you will get realtime graphical breakdown of current scene. Try to keep "draw calls" between 800-1500 for regular areas (see Summir) and under 2500 for with extreme fidelity (see Refinery). On low spec computer like mine (4 years old), with 1500 draw FPS drops starts occurning.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    ok, but is there anyway to see that from the editor?


    How do I see my xyz location in the editor? It is not standing out for me.


    What is occlusion gemetry?
  • RegnRegn Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165335Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2025714:date=Nov 16 2012, 07:18 AM:name=Rudy.cz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Rudy.cz @ Nov 16 2012, 07:18 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025714"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->We really need FAQ, sigh...<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I made one. I just don't want to keep bumping or referring to it.
  • TwixitTwixit Join Date: 2012-11-05 Member: 167120Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2025714:date=Nov 16 2012, 03:18 PM:name=Rudy.cz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Rudy.cz @ Nov 16 2012, 03:18 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025714"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->We really need FAQ, sigh...<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Actually Regn, started one. Should be renamed...

    <a href="http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/forums/index.php?showtopic=123894" target="_blank">Regn´s - Kinda FAQ</a>
  • RegnRegn Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165335Members
    Occlusion culling basically means that if the player can't see it the engine won't render it.
  • TontowTontow Join Date: 2012-11-14 Member: 171161Members
    How do you add it and how is it exactly used?
  • TontowTontow Join Date: 2012-11-14 Member: 171161Members
    I only ask because, from the wiki: "Occlusion culling is hardware assisted, done in real time, using an implementation of the CHC++ algorithm. This method suits both indoor and outdoor environments, reducing the limitations on the types of game mods that can be created "
  • Rudy.czRudy.cz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145410Members
    Occlusion geometry is an geometry placed in "OcclusionGeometry" group (F8) which is blocking player's view. Objects between player and occlusion mesh are not rendered by engine. The best way how to use this is to enclose your map in a Occlusion capsule folowing the outer geometry of your map but few units larger. If you type cheats 1 and r_wireframe in to console you will be able see how your occlusion geometry works.
  • TontowTontow Join Date: 2012-11-14 Member: 171161Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2025928:date=Nov 16 2012, 09:55 AM:name=Rudy.cz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Rudy.cz @ Nov 16 2012, 09:55 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2025928"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Occlusion geometry is an geometry placed in "OcclusionGeometry" group (F8) which is blocking player's view. Objects between player and occlusion mesh are not rendered by engine. The best way how to use this is to enclose your map in a Occlusion capsule folowing the outer geometry of your map but few units larger. If you type cheats 1 and r_wireframe in to console you will be able see how your occlusion geometry works.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    Now this is the type of stuff I want to know about. None of the tutorials I found had any of this in them.



    Is there any other way to Optimize? Like with Lighting? (except for turning shadows off for an object).
Sign In or Register to comment.