How does one bind Mousewheel scroll?

ResRes Join Date: 2003-08-27 Member: 20245Members
As the title says... I want to bind the scroll to jump , but can't figure it out as it won't allow me to in the keybindings menu.

Comments

  • Omar - The WireOmar - The Wire Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165320Members
    edited December 2012
    One does not, easily, until UWE updates their binding system. If I'm not mistaken.


    You can use a separate program I think to spam key bindings as a work around, if I've heard people correctly.
  • t0fut0fu Join Date: 2012-11-13 Member: 170615Members
    I think it may be 'bind mousewheel_up/mousewheel_down' or something like that

    I haven't tried it, but should be able to bind to it considering you can scroll weapons with it - so it's obviously bound by default
  • Brad_RBrad_R pandas | brad Join Date: 2002-11-12 Member: 8273Members, Constellation
    <!--quoteo(post=2051511:date=Dec 26 2012, 03:30 PM:name=t0fu)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (t0fu @ Dec 26 2012, 03:30 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051511"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I think it may be 'bind mousewheel_up/mousewheel_down' or something like that

    I haven't tried it, but should be able to bind to it considering you can scroll weapons with it - so it's obviously bound by default<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    That would certainly seem to make sense...
  • swalkswalk Say hello to my little friend. Join Date: 2011-01-20 Member: 78384Members, Squad Five Blue
    One does simply not bind jump onto mousewheel.
  • [q.S] Sachiel[q.S] Sachiel Join Date: 2012-12-26 Member: 176347Members
    one does not simply rapidfirepistol
  • OnosFactoryOnosFactory New Zealand Join Date: 2008-07-16 Member: 64637Members
    Heh, would that work even? Isn't there a little jump induced drag that eventually leadens the Marine?
  • swalkswalk Say hello to my little friend. Join Date: 2011-01-20 Member: 78384Members, Squad Five Blue
    <!--quoteo(post=2051633:date=Dec 27 2012, 03:35 AM:name=OnosFactory)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (OnosFactory @ Dec 27 2012, 03:35 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051633"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Heh, would that work even? Isn't there a little jump induced drag that eventually leadens the Marine?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I presume it's more for the alien side.
  • Omar - The WireOmar - The Wire Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165320Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2051633:date=Dec 26 2012, 06:35 PM:name=OnosFactory)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (OnosFactory @ Dec 26 2012, 06:35 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051633"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Heh, would that work even? Isn't there a little jump induced drag that eventually leadens the Marine?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Mouse wheel = jump is a pretty standard bunnyhopping/movement bind for a lot of games, especially the HL engine.

    Obviously you can't bhop here, but it's a feeling of familiarity.
  • GlissGliss Join Date: 2003-03-23 Member: 14800Members, Constellation, NS2 Map Tester
    <!--quoteo(post=2051511:date=Dec 26 2012, 01:30 PM:name=t0fu)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (t0fu @ Dec 26 2012, 01:30 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051511"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I think it may be 'bind mousewheel_up/mousewheel_down' or something like that

    I haven't tried it, but should be able to bind to it considering you can scroll weapons with it - so it's obviously bound by default<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    it's hardcoded
  • ResRes Join Date: 2003-08-27 Member: 20245Members
    edited December 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=2051673:date=Dec 27 2012, 12:50 AM:name=Omar - The Wire)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Omar - The Wire @ Dec 27 2012, 12:50 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051673"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Mouse wheel = jump is a pretty standard bunnyhopping/movement bind for a lot of games, especially the HL engine.

    Obviously you can't bhop here, but it's a feeling of familiarity.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    ^This

    I still tend to bunnyhop in every game even when it provides no benefit, out of habit and I've gotten used to having jump on the scroll.

    I don't think it would even be possible to use with Autohotkey program... because it would still cycle weapons.
  • GlissGliss Join Date: 2003-03-23 Member: 14800Members, Constellation, NS2 Map Tester
    <!--quoteo(post=2051686:date=Dec 26 2012, 10:07 PM:name=Res)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Res @ Dec 26 2012, 10:07 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051686"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->^This

    I still tend to bunnyhop in every game even when it provides no benefit, out of habit and I've gotten used to having jump on the scroll.

    I don't think it would even be possible to use with Autohotkey program... because it would still cycle weapons.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I tried using something like this:
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->*wheelup::send {space}
    *wheeldown::send {space}<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    but it kept sending the original weapon switch command in addition to sending the space keypress. usually in AHK you have to specify a ~ to indicate sending the original key, so I'm not sure
  • eh?eh? Join Date: 2012-03-03 Member: 147997Members
    Most razer, steelseries, etc mice have a driver option to remap mwheel and every other button to be whatever macro you want. It works fine last time I tried binding shoot or jump to mwheel on a xai.
  • MestaritonttuMestaritonttu Join Date: 2004-07-29 Member: 30229Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Gold
    edited December 2012
    In console, type:

    bind Mouse-Z jump

    Or MouseZ. Can't remember which, I can't find my keybinds file anymore, and devs are evil and won't tell where it is.

    There is no mwheelup/down as separate bindings as far as I know.
  • ResRes Join Date: 2003-08-27 Member: 20245Members
    edited December 2012
    As far as I can tell MouseZ does nothing. Mouse-Z is invalid.
  • Omar - The WireOmar - The Wire Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165320Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2052076:date=Dec 27 2012, 04:27 PM:name=Res)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Res @ Dec 27 2012, 04:27 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052076"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->As far as I can tell MouseZ does nothing. Mouse-Z is invalid.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    MouseZ is correct, but I remember having issues when I was trying to bind in the options.xml (or whatever it was called)


    Regardless, I think the devs have any mentioned that you currently can't do it in game.
  • MestaritonttuMestaritonttu Join Date: 2004-07-29 Member: 30229Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Gold
    Maybe it only works from the keybinds file then. Does for me.
  • Omar - The WireOmar - The Wire Join Date: 2012-11-01 Member: 165320Members
    edited December 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=2052084:date=Dec 27 2012, 03:38 PM:name=Mestaritonttu)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Mestaritonttu @ Dec 27 2012, 03:38 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052084"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Maybe it only works from the keybinds file then. Does for me.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Weird. When I did it from the file, it registered for one, single jump... then never did it again until I reloaded.


    Though to be fair, this is several patches ago.
  • ResRes Join Date: 2003-08-27 Member: 20245Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2052084:date=Dec 27 2012, 07:38 PM:name=Mestaritonttu)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Mestaritonttu @ Dec 27 2012, 07:38 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052084"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Maybe it only works from the keybinds file then. Does for me.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    As far as I can tell, options.xml is the keybinds file.

    I changed MouseZ to jump in options.xml and it made no difference, still can't jump with mouse scroll.
  • kalvkalv Join Date: 2004-09-04 Member: 31339Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2051673:date=Dec 26 2012, 11:50 PM:name=Omar - The Wire)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Omar - The Wire @ Dec 26 2012, 11:50 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051673"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Mouse wheel = jump is a pretty standard bunnyhopping/movement bind for a lot of games, especially the HL engine.

    Obviously you can't bhop here, but it's a feeling of familiarity.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    You can still bunnyhop. I don't know if they changed it recently, but I've seen some pro gamer bunny hop flawlessly with skulk.
  • MestaritonttuMestaritonttu Join Date: 2004-07-29 Member: 30229Members, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Gold
    <!--quoteo(post=2052131:date=Dec 28 2012, 03:57 AM:name=Res)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Res @ Dec 28 2012, 03:57 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052131"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->As far as I can tell, options.xml is the keybinds file.

    I changed MouseZ to jump in options.xml and it made no difference, still can't jump with mouse scroll.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Yeah it's options.xml - where is that though.

    <!--quoteo(post=2052205:date=Dec 28 2012, 08:22 AM:name=kalv)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (kalv @ Dec 28 2012, 08:22 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052205"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->You can still bunnyhop. I don't know if they changed it recently, but I've seen some pro gamer bunny hop flawlessly with skulk.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Bunnyhop is/was based on air friction - strafing in the air increased your speed. There is no air friction in NS2, thus "no bunnyhopping". You can still "bunnyhop" but it doesn't give you a particular advantage.
  • ResRes Join Date: 2003-08-27 Member: 20245Members
    edited December 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=2052392:date=Dec 28 2012, 02:41 PM:name=Mestaritonttu)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Mestaritonttu @ Dec 28 2012, 02:41 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052392"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Yeah it's options.xml - where is that though.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    if you do a windows search for options.xml you may find it (that's how i found it).

    This is where i found the file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\896765\4920\remote\options.xml


    The 4920 is steams number for natural selection 2.

    Was surprised to learn it's not directly in the NS2 folder in steam.
  • kalakujakalakuja Join Date: 2012-09-11 Member: 159045Members, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter
    <!--quoteo(post=2051694:date=Dec 26 2012, 11:56 PM:name=Gliss)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Gliss @ Dec 26 2012, 11:56 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2051694"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I tried using something like this:
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->*wheelup::send {space}
    *wheeldown::send {space}<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    but it kept sending the original weapon switch command in addition to sending the space keypress. usually in AHK you have to specify a ~ to indicate sending the original key, so I'm not sure<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    AHK is blocked by the lua. Best free moddable choice of 2012 :D
  • GlissGliss Join Date: 2003-03-23 Member: 14800Members, Constellation, NS2 Map Tester
    <!--quoteo(post=2052700:date=Dec 28 2012, 09:29 PM:name=kalakuja)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (kalakuja @ Dec 28 2012, 09:29 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052700"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->AHK is blocked by the lua. Best free moddable choice of 2012 :D<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    no it's not, because it works fine for pistol scripts and jump scripts which I've already encountered people using
  • UncleCrunchUncleCrunch Mayonnaise land Join Date: 2005-02-16 Member: 41365Members, Reinforced - Onos
    <!--quoteo(post=2052733:date=Dec 29 2012, 03:00 AM:name=Gliss)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Gliss @ Dec 29 2012, 03:00 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2052733"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->no it's not, because it works fine for pistol scripts and jump scripts which I've already encountered people using<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Tada!!!! (true)

    It's already starting to be a game in which some doesn't have the same version. I vote for a complete customizable keyboard (including comm).

    Because the thing that is important is not repetition of the key stroke. It's how the server deals with it. A keyboard sequence checker would be easy to do. Or a cooldown time for pistol and jump is another way to do it.
Sign In or Register to comment.