Question (mostly towards competitive crowd) regarding Fades

ElectricElectric Join Date: 2013-01-14 Member: 179617Members, Reinforced - Shadow
When I started playing Fade, everyone told me to grab adrenaline instead of celerity, so I could blink more.

I've watched a lot of competitive games though, and aliens usually only have celerity + carapace researched when fades first pop out. My question is, do the competitive players prefer celerity with their fades, or is it as simple as celerity usually being the only shift upgrade researched? If you had the choice of adrenaline/celerity, would you still choose celerity?

Also, does celerity affect shadowstep speed out-of-combat?

Finally, thanks nexzil for your L2P videos! Discovering the shadowstep + double jump movement method blew my mind! I finally have the confidence to fade up instantly at 50 res (although it is stressful to do so without carapace).

Comments

• trentluvtrentluv Join Date: 2010-07-27 Member: 73126Members
    edited January 2013
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited January 2013
    Shadows step is better in terms of energy conservation and with good use of double jump with shadow step it is also faster. Combined with celerity it is superior to adrenaline+blink, but it does take practice. Adrenaline is nothing more then a bigger pool of energy, it doesn't regen faster so the name is misleading (NS1 had it as faster regen, so the name stems from that upgrade)

Carapace is kinda mandatory for Fades to be able to move int and out with a tiny bit less of a risk being shredded by shotties
  • TweadleTweadle Join Date: 2005-02-03 Member: 39686Members, NS2 Map Tester
    edited January 2013