Persistent Score, from a rookie point of view

kgptzackgptzac Join Date: 2013-03-25 Member: 184391Members
edited March 2013 in Ideas and Suggestions
I started playing the game since the free weekend and bought the game while it was still on the 50% sale. Needless to say, I like the game and want it to succeed. There are quite a few oddities that achieves nothing but prevent new players from effectively learning the game; nothing can't be overcome but still should be improved. Yet I feel I've now hit a "plateau" in the sense of progression. I did my search on various topics about persistent ranking, matchmaking, and even vote concede, and then came to a conclusion that a global, persistent score system that gives players a sense of progression is a positive addition to the game.

Firstly, "winning at all cost and nothing else matters" sometimes is anti-fun. I agree with the notion that the early and mid-game can be too punishing that a small mistake (usually a strategic one by the commander) can easily make the result apparent even though it will still take the winning team at least 30 minutes or more to muster enough firepower to score a hard win, where the chance of the weaker team to make a comeback is slim.

Ironically, some of the most epic battles I fought happened when the losing team turtled in their last base and it took the winning team many tries to break the final stronghold. However, under the premise of the winning condition, such "sieges" are the result of the losing team team does not have enough votes to concede, thus potentially wasting the time for majority of the players in that match. If a score that is meaningful across matches is implemented, both the losing team and the winning team are rewarded as more kills means better personal score.