Uploading crosshair to workshop?

PolystigmaPolystigma Join Date: 2013-03-22 Member: 184184Members
I have searched, but have not found info to answer my question to my understanding. In addition, I am new to this kind of work. Usually I can figure things out, but this has me stumped.

Created a custom crosshair with hit indicator. It works great for me. However, I wish to upload it to the workshop for others to enjoy.

Using the LaunchPad application, I click "Create Mod", name it, then select the output directory as C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Natural Selection 2\ns2\ui

Next I go to "Publisher", name it, upload a picture, and hit publish. In my steam workshop I do find my upload, but file size is HUGE.... like 32.00MB. Other peoples crosshairs in workshop are 0.019MB.

I subscribe to my upload in workshop, launch game, activate it in mods. Does not work in game, I still get the stock crosshairs.

The two files that make up the custom crosshair are .DDS files "crosshairs" and "crosshairs-hit". Both are located in my "ui" folder.
Is everything in the output directory I have chosen being uploaded to workshop? Would that explain why the file size is so big?

Comments

• Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited April 2013
    The output directory is actually quite misleading, it needs to be linked up to the root directory of your mod, not the "output directory" in the NS2 folder" ie: my crosshair mod is located at

\Steam\SteamApps\common\natural selection 2\Kouji San's Crosshairs #2\
    ->.publish (created by launchpad)
    ->\ui\

Which is also the output directory for your mod.

You can edit these locations, using the xml located at "%appdata%\Natural Selection 2\Launch Pad\options.xml" (edit it with wordpad"), this way you don't have to delete->create a new mod.

----