NS2 failed to allocate ###### bytes and will now terminate.

1235»

Comments

  • hymermanhymerman Join Date: 2014-08-17 Member: 198000Members
    edited August 2014
    Apologies for reviving this old thread again, but I can 100% reproduce this crash. It happens every time I respawn as a marine, whether on a server or playing locally with no mods, regardless of texture detail or fullscreen/windowed mode. It's always failing to allocate 536870916 bytes, when the process already has around 3GB committed (and ~3.5GB reserved).

    Interestingly, viewing the graph of total system committed memory in Process Explorer, it looks like the game stops responding about 30 seconds before the failed allocation, makes several large allocations in that time (each slightly larger than the last) then finally fails with this one.

    I had a bit of a peek at the minidump generated by TechSupport.exe (whilst the error dialogue is up) and there's one thread with this callstack:
    user32.dll!_NtUserWaitMessage@0()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_DialogBox2@16()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_InternalDialogBox@24()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_SoftModalMessageBox@4()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_MessageBoxWorker@4()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_MessageBoxTimeoutW@24()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_MessageBoxTimeoutA@24()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_MessageBoxExA@20()	Unknown
     	user32.dll!_MessageBoxA@16()	Unknown
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::Platform_MessageBox(const char * message=0x160ff6fc, const char * title=0x00931b3c) Line 75	C++
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::OutOfMemory(unsigned int size=1) Line 39	C++
    >	Spark_Core.dll!M4::HeapAllocator::AllocateAligned(unsigned int size=536870916, unsigned int align=8) Line 69	C++
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::ProxyAllocator::AllocateAligned(unsigned int size=536870916, unsigned int align=8) Line 162	C++
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::ProxyAllocator::AllocateAligned(unsigned int size=536870916, unsigned int align=8) Line 162	C++
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::PoolAllocator::AllocateFromPage(unsigned int size=536870912) Line 161	C++
     	Spark_Core.dll!M4::PoolAllocator::AllocateAligned(unsigned int size=536870912, unsigned int align=8) Line 102	C++
     	NS2.exe!M4::LuaAllocator::Alloc(unsigned int size=28) Line 46	C++
     	NS2.exe!M4::Script_Alloc(void * ud=0x34a23858, void * ptr=0xbcd9000c, unsigned int osize=134217736, unsigned int nsize=268435464) Line 1043	C++
     	lua51.dll!lj_mem_realloc(lua_State * L=0x34531f2c, void * p=0xbcd9000c, unsigned int osz=134217736, unsigned int nsz=268435464) Line 835	C
     	lua51.dll!resizetab(lua_State * L=0x34531f2c, GCtab * t=0x50877d50, unsigned int asize=33554433, unsigned int hbits=0) Line 236	C
     	lua51.dll!rehashtab(lua_State * L=0x34531f2c, GCtab * t=0x00000001, const TValue * ek=0x54b57c34) Line 351	C
     	lua51.dll!lj_tab_newkey(lua_State * L=0x34531f2c, GCtab * t=0x4d4e42dc, const TValue * key=0x54b57c34) Line 429	C
     	lua51.dll!lj_meta_tset(lua_State * L=0x34531f2c, const TValue * o=0x54b57c0c, const TValue * k=0x54b57c34) Line 173	C
     	lua51.dll!_lj_vmeta_tsetv()	Unknown
    

    ... which makes debugging a bit tricky since it looks the request is coming from script. Visual Studio can't resolve lua_State or TValue so I can't get much more info. Kudos to you for including debug symbols though, that's super cool :)

    I have the TechSupport.exe-generated zip file here, please let me know where to send it (I'd rather not post it here). If you'd like me to repro with other settings etc, let me know.

    For now I'll work around it by only playing as the aliens :)
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    You also made sure you disabled all kind of hint in the option menu?
  • hymermanhymerman Join Date: 2014-08-17 Member: 198000Members
    I hadn't... but yes, disabling hints does fix the problem - thanks. I couldn't see anything in this thread suggesting disabling hints; where did you find that out?
  • PergoPergo Arg Join Date: 2014-08-23 Member: 198075Members
    Hi guys, i never posted on this forum because of my bad english (sorry) but i having this exact same problem and its driving me crasy

    i just wanted to let you know that another person has the problem, and its not resolved yet

    sumary, i have the same issue that hymerman, i can't play with marine because "failed to allocate bytes" pop up

    i can play with aliens without problem.

    i allready disabled hints but that doesn't do anything.

    sorry that i can't give you my teach_support file, i don't know exactly how to do it

    thx, bye guys
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    edited August 2014
    Pergo wrote: »
    Hi guys, i never posted on this forum because of my bad english (sorry) but i having this exact same problem and its driving me crasy

    i just wanted to let you know that another person has the problem, and its not resolved yet

    sumary, i have the same issue that hymerman, i can't play with marine because "failed to allocate bytes" pop up

    i can play with aliens without problem.

    i allready disabled hints but that doesn't do anything.

    sorry that i can't give you my teach_support file, i don't know exactly how to do it

    thx, bye guys

    If the ns2.exe freezes or crashed do not close it.

    Instead go into the ns2 install folder (Steam Liberary rightclick at Batural selection 2 -> proberties -> Local files -> Browse Local Files ) and start the TechSupport.exe.

    It may take a while like 5-10 mins so please wait until it says done. Then save the produced tech_support.zip and close the techsupport and ns2.

    Upload your tech_support.zip somewhere and post a link here. Someone of the cdt devs will have a look.
  • PergoPergo Arg Join Date: 2014-08-23 Member: 198075Members
    ok, here is my tech support

    thx for everything
  • IronHorseIronHorse Developer, QA Manager, Technical Support & contributor Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71669Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester, Subnautica PT Lead, Pistachionauts
    Are you sure you kept the ns2 window open when you ran that techsupport.exe @Pergo‌ ?
    Because that zip is way to small and doesn't contain the dump file needed
  • PergoPergo Arg Join Date: 2014-08-23 Member: 198075Members
    edited September 2014
    yes, it was open D:.

    thats strange, i saw a lot of "techsupport.zip" around 245kb

    i will try to do it again in a few days
  • IronHorseIronHorse Developer, QA Manager, Technical Support & contributor Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71669Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester, Subnautica PT Lead, Pistachionauts
    Yea expect it to be large with a dump file
  • ohthatiswhackkohthatiswhackk California Join Date: 2014-11-30 Member: 199886Members
    Is there work being done to fix the issues related to running this game at 4k? Like others here, i get the error message "failed to allocate 5XXXXXXXX bytes". My crashes normally occur within the first 10 mins, im lucky if I can get through a match.

    If im running at 1440p i have yet to crash so Im pretty sure its related to the 4k res. I run everything on low, hints disable.
  • rkfgrkfg Russia Join Date: 2013-09-03 Member: 187744Members, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Gold, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow
    What's your Texture Handling parameter set to? Try to set it to your GPU memory minus 512 Mb (or even lower if it doesn't help). If it's set to "off", it poorly autodetects the right value and fails to do so, hence the crashes.
  • Ehlek70Ehlek70 Germany Join Date: 2014-09-13 Member: 198446Members
    I need help. I have this fatal error, but I can't use the Techsupport. I have to restart my computer completely if the fatal error starts. I know only it failed to allocate 536870916 bytes. Sometimes it starts on a Server after 10 mins, sometimes after 30 mins. This fatal error starts since build 277 was updated.
  • IronHorseIronHorse Developer, QA Manager, Technical Support & contributor Join Date: 2010-05-08 Member: 71669Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester, Subnautica PT Lead, Pistachionauts
    @Ehlek70
    Please start a new thread with your techsupport.zip file generated from running techsupport.exe in your NS2 folder.
Sign In or Register to comment.