Subnautica First Runthrough, could use a direction to go

KyuRyuKunKyuRyuKun Join Date: 2017-03-10 Member: 228818Members
I just started playing the game and I gotta say its a lot of fun. Pretty to look at and has a Metroid Prime feel of exploration, I'm kinda confused on what to do though, it seems like I'm not doing much but collecting quartz and Im guessing thats not what I need. Any suggestions on how to start off?

Video if you're interested:

Comments

• DrownedOutDrownedOut Habitat Join Date: 2016-05-26 Member: 217559Members
    edited March 2017
    Welcome! Always nice to see enthusiastic new players.

For one, stop collecting stuff without plan and focus on getting the welder/repair tool and habitat builder. Use the welder to repair Lifepod 5 (panel & radio) so you'll start receiving signals to guide you. The habitat builder you need to set up a base so you can better store any stuff you collect. Warning, as you've found, that currently the waterproof locker and bags are bugged and might delete your items. Base-built lockers are safe, which is why a base is a must right now. (The lifepod locker is safe too. I skimmed a bit through your vid, but it appears you didn't notice it. It's the red spot below the screen.)

Once you start receiving signals:
    #4 is one to watch out with. It leads you to the Aurora, where you should go, just into one of the nearby dangerous areas you shouldn't just wander into (and don't forget to wear a radiation suit). If you have a vehicle (you can swim, but it's a long swim - mind you swim faster on the surface and when not holding anything), stick to the surface, aim for the back half of the ship's side, then follow the hull to the first opening giving access to the front. Always stick to the hull and the surface! And bring a few medkits.