Some Help Please

CarlingCarling Join Date: 2003-05-21 Member: 16571Members
<div class="IPBDescription">doors & MAX_PATCHES</div> Hey!

Ok i been mapping for a few weeks. i used to map like 2yrs ago but i took a 2yr break so forgot almost every thing heh.

So far i have come up with 2 problems.

1) When some thing blocks the doors i made they go back the way they came. its very annoying case i was messing about and made a large door from 12 other doors and when one is block it goes out of order and looks realy bad lol.

Is there some way to prevent them from going back ? like if they hit some thing they just keep trying to open till object moves / dies.
I had consided making a train but not sure if i can do that for my rotating doors.


2) I started a serious map and all was going well. was near compleateion. just needed a few more res tower rooms, vents and ambient noise then i start getting the error below.

12717 faces
Create Patches : 67502 base patches
0 opaque faces
566970 square feet [81643736.00 square inches]
Error: <b>Exceeded MAX_PATCHES</b>
Description: The map has a problem which must be fixed
Howto Fix: Check the file ZHLTProblems.html for a detailed explanation of this problem

Im presuming this means my map is to large but is there a way to fix other than deleting half my map ?
The error started right after i was playing with a func illutiary. in fact i belive thats the only change i made that compile then the error started. i tryed deleteing the item but that didnt help.

its possible i didnt have all my groups visable the compile before lol.


Please help!

Comments

  • Lt_GravityLt_Gravity Join Date: 2003-04-28 Member: 15909Members
    func_doors and func_doorrotating have a value to do damage to blocking elements. if this value is set to 10000 nothing will never ever block your door again <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->

    <a href='http://vibrants.dk/jchq/faq/errors.htm' target='_blank'>check this page to read some more detailed information about any erros</a>

    map too big? is this possible in any way <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • uffouffo Join Date: 2003-05-03 Member: 16026Members
    have you tried XP-Cagey's tools?

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=4&t=21248' target='_blank'>http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/in...=ST&f=4&t=21248</a>
  • devilblocksdevilblocks Join Date: 2002-02-04 Member: 162Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    maxpatches: set your chop in hlrad to -chop 96 or -chop 128 (defualt is 64) and it will give you more area in effect as the patches are larger. You can go past 128 if you want, but after 128, you can start to tell a degredation in quality.
  • NayNay Join Date: 2002-06-09 Member: 741Members
    run -sparse on RAD this disables the patch limit enjoy <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • CarlingCarling Join Date: 2003-05-21 Member: 16571Members
    Thanks for all your help <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> ill give the diffrent compile lines a try <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Thanks for the door hint. ill try that as well altho i didnt want the door to kill ppl just be jamed till they move. however there death is prefred over the door going out of order lol.
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    The original vismatrix algorithm in HLrad was limited to 65535 patches due to its design. As your log says your map currently has "Create Patches : 67502 base patches" - so you're 2000 patches over the limit. A 'patch' refers to how the map is chopped up to determine lighting bounces. By default this is set to 64 and can be changed with the -chop # command on HLrad, increasing this will reduce the number of patches. Increasing the chop by a small amount, like 25% ( -chop 80 ), would probably solve this problem, though if you make your level bigger you may need to increase it again. Increasing the chop however may make your lighting look worse, other than reducing the size of your level there are two other ways to get around this. The -sparse command on HLrad will enable a compressed vismatrix, which will allow you to break this 65535 limit, up to a point, at the cost that it will take noticably longer to compile your map. The -nomatrix command on HLrad will disable the vismatrix entirely, which completely removes the limit, letting you have almost any number of patches on you map. However, this will generally take even longer to compile than -sparse.

    Also make sure you have the latest version compile tools, there's no reason not to.

    As for making doors - you can simulate any type of door using a func_train, though it isn't very easy. Also note that even if you get doors a very high damage they can still rebound when the hit (and kill) a player. I'm not entirely sure how to stop this from happening and I'm still trying to figure out trains myself.
  • CarlingCarling Join Date: 2003-05-21 Member: 16571Members
    wow. nice info <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    i downloaded the latist update of the compile tools. altho havnt had time to install yet. Got it from uffo link. i presume they lateist version.
    how exactly do i use this - commands ? lol i tryed -chop 128 before i went out altho didnt work and still same number of patches so i figer i didnt do it right lol.


    Link below shows my current set up. am taking the hull thingy for ns isnt set up right ether :/ lol.

    <a href='http://homepage.ntlworld.com/carling2u/images/compile.jpg' target='_blank'>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/carling2u/ima...ges/compile.jpg</a>
  • NayNay Join Date: 2002-06-09 Member: 741Members
    edited June 2003
    just get a batch compiler or use the hammers advanced compiler and run -sparse on HLRAD this breaks the limit of MAX_PATCHEs
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    Yes, uffo's link is to the latest ones, to install them just extract the zip file and place them in the same folder as your current csg, bsp, etc files. Then you want your compile setup to look something like this:

    HLcsg.exe $path\$file -hullfile *the NS hullfile* (put it all in the same line) (I would also recomend "-cliptype precise" as it will fix some clipping problems)

    HLbsp.exe $path\$file

    HLvis.exe $path\$file (running "-full" improves vis without adding much time to the compile so I would recomend all the time it unless you have a slow computer. Or you could use "-fast" to compile quicker.)

    HLrad.exe $path\$file -chop 128
  • michaeltoemichaeltoe Join Date: 2003-04-17 Member: 15588Members
    I have -chop and -texchop set to 256 any time I'm not making a full compile, it saves _tons_ of hlrad compile time. All I really need to know is roughly how the map looks with lightning, no point in going lower unless it's needed. After that, you should just tweak the compile settings as needed.

    valve-erc has a great online batch compiler which writes a .bat file with the neccessary variables... I saved myself tons of hard work when I found it.
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    With chop and texchop at 256 your shadows and bounces must look really stair-steppy <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
    If you want to save even more time on your rad compile you can:
    - Make sure "-sparse", "-nomatrix", and "-extra" are turned off, unless necessary.
    - Using "-bounce 0" will reduce you compile time by quite a bit, by only doing direct lighting.
    - "-nopaque" will speed it up a bit, by ignoring any opaque entities, which slow down HLrad quite a bit.
    - and "-nolerp" will reduce the time a little more, but make edges a bit more jaggy.
    - You can also you "-high", which will set the compile program to high priority - and make it steal CPU time from almost all other programs until it finishes, which can cut your compile time in half at the expense that you won't be able to do anything except watch while it's compiling.
  • CarlingCarling Join Date: 2003-05-21 Member: 16571Members
    Ah i see where i went wrong with the - stuff. its like a short cut layout lol. C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike\cstrike.exe -console -game ns thanks <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Id rather have a HUGE compile time if the map was gonna look nicer and play better. during the week i work so computer has like 35hours a week idle time right now heh.

    Its 7:30am here <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> i hate getting up lol.

    Thanks for all your help guys, you realy have been most helpful. ill try a compile that will take ages to run throw when i leave for work today and post back how it went when i get back home.
  • michaeltoemichaeltoe Join Date: 2003-04-17 Member: 15588Members
    When you're finally finished with your map you generally set all your compile variables to their highest settings... but there's no point in doing that if you want to check your map every 20 minutes while working on it.
  • CarlingCarling Join Date: 2003-05-21 Member: 16571Members
    Hey. ok i final installed the updated zone driver things but now i carnt compile at all lol. i do some thing wrong ?


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Change Directory
    ** Parameters: "C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLCSG.EXE
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1" -hullfile C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike\ns\nshulls.txt

    * Could not execute the command:
    C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLCSG.EXE "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1" -hullfile C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike\ns\nshulls.txt
    * Windows gave the error message:
    "The operation completed successfully."

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLBSP.EXE
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1"

    * Could not execute the command:
    C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLBSP.EXE "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1"
    * Windows gave the error message:
    "The operation completed successfully."

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLVIS.EXE
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1"

    * Could not execute the command:
    C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLVIS.EXE "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1"
    * Windows gave the error message:
    "The operation completed successfully."

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLRAD.EXE
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1" -chop 128

    * Could not execute the command:
    C:\PROGRA~1\VALVEH~1\ZONE1~1.7\HLRAD.EXE "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1" -chop 128
    * Windows gave the error message:
    "The operation completed successfully."

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1.bsp" "C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike\ns\maps\ns_noname_beta1.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "c:\program files\valve hammer editor\maps\ns_noname_beta1.pts" "C:\Sierra\Counter-Strike\ns\maps\ns_noname_beta1.pts"
  • ShadowicsShadowics Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7652Members
    Hmm, ok, I think I'll resurrect this thread. I have my own questions about HLrad.

    I was going to compile my map and got the error max_patches. Now, this surprised me a little because I already had -sparse added. <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->-sparse Enable low memory vismatrix algorithm. - The original vismatrix algorithm was limited to 65535 patches due to its design. Its memory usage also grew exponentially with the number of patches. This option enables a compressed vismatrix, which at the cost of extra CPU time, breaks the 65535 limit, and also uses about 10% of the memory the vismatrix would.

    -nomatrix Disable usage of vismatrix entirely. - As the sparse code does some compression, it requires a lot of thread synchronization and does not scale well past 2 CPU's. The -nomatrix switch was added to address this. However the addition of 'opaque brush entities' starting with ZHLT 2.2 hurts the -nomatrix method's performance quite a bit. There is no vismatrix in this method at all, so it essentially reduces the memory requirements to zero for that structure.<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->So I switched to -nomatrix, which I thought would mean it would be impossible to get a max_patches error but the compile would take forever - but I still got a max_patches error anyway. Is there some maximum limit hard coded into HLrad that - even with -nomatrix - will give a max_patches error, or can -nomatrix only hold so many patchs, it just raises the bar up some more?
Sign In or Register to comment.