Binding To Capslock

DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
<div class="IPBDescription">how to leave voice on?</div> Is it possible to bind voicecomm so that when capslock is on it is active?

Comments

  • SeraphyGoodnessSeraphyGoodness Join Date: 2003-06-05 Member: 17029Members
    i doubt it would work, cos the interface will only respond to press and hold, not to a system variable like caps on/off.

    plus, it would be a good way to get urself banned for voice-spam from a lot of servers, should you forget to turn it off.

    I bind to the left thumb button on a 5 button mouse. doesnt get in the way then, and is easy to hold for prolonged periods...
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    Well I want it so I can use my hotkeys while I command, right now I need to hold it down to talk to my marines.
  • MonkeybonkMonkeybonk Join Date: 2003-08-04 Member: 18859Banned
    Seraphy, that's... actually, a pretty damn good idea...
  • OlljOllj our themepark-stalking nightmare Fade Join Date: 2002-12-12 Member: 10696Members
    a penny to keep a key down works wonders.
  • nthingnthing Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3091Members
    edited August 2003
    This:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias VoiceToggle "Voice_On"
    alias Voice_On "+voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_Off; dv1; echo  Started Voice Recording; dv0"
    alias Voice_Off "-voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_On; dv1; echo Stopped Voice Recording; dv0"

    bind CAPSLOCK "VoiceToggle"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    would work, but you would have to make sure that your capslock is turned off when you start the game. You cannot script a method of detecting when capslock is on or off without hooking into HL with some external executable.

    Just put that script in an <i>'autoexec.cfg'</i> file in your NS directory (if it doesn't exist, just create one with Notepad). Should work perfectly to your needs. I've decided to use it myself for commanding, now, actually <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Good idea <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Right next to your hotkeys.

    <b>EDIT:</b> Also, don't bind <b>+voicerecord</b> to a mouse button if you're planning on commanding. It messes up, I think (might have been fixed with 2.0).
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    edited August 2003
    Well I've got this nice mechanical keyboard that has served me well...only a penny won't hold down the keys--it isn't heavy enough. And this optical mouse only has <i>two</i> buttons and a roller.

    edit: only two buttons
  • TyrainTyrain Join Date: 2003-01-03 Member: 11746Members
    You should get some logitech ones. They are sooo cool. But don't try to install their software! It's the devil! But yeah a better mouse (with more buttons) can work wonders ingame.
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    Thanks Nothing! /me goes off to try it.
  • GlissGliss Join Date: 2003-03-23 Member: 14800Members, Constellation, NS2 Map Tester
    <!--QuoteBegin--nØthing+Aug 23 2003, 06:55 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (nØthing @ Aug 23 2003, 06:55 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> This:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias VoiceToggle "Voice_On"
    alias Voice_On "+voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_Off; dv1; echo  Started Voice Recording; dv0"
    alias Voice_Off "-voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_On; dv1; echo Stopped Voice Recording; dv0"

    bind CAPSLOCK "VoiceToggle"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    would work, but you would have to make sure that your capslock is turned off when you start the game. You cannot script a method of detecting when capslock is on or off without hooking into HL with some external executable.

    Just put that script in an <i>'autoexec.cfg'</i> file in your NS directory (if it doesn't exist, just create one with Notepad). Should work perfectly to your needs. I've decided to use it myself for commanding, now, actually <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Good idea <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Right next to your hotkeys.

    <b>EDIT:</b> Also, don't bind <b>+voicerecord</b> to a mouse button if you're planning on commanding. It messes up, I think (might have been fixed with 2.0). <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    You are so "elite".
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    Hmm, I seem to have missed something, the bind goes in the config and the three alias lines go in the autoexec.cfg right?
  • SariselSarisel .::&#39; ( O ) &#39;;:-. .-.:;&#39; ( O ) &#39;::. Join Date: 2003-07-30 Member: 18557Members, Constellation
    I think it is more practical to just hold down the capslock when you want to talk, and let go when you don't. Keeping the mic on for a prolonged period of time = echoes (if you use speakers) along with lots of irritation for other marines.
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    I use headphones, it's much easier to pinpoint those pesky skulks. <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • PoofatPoofat Join Date: 2003-06-17 Member: 17434Members
    Heh, a bit off-topic, but why should capslock even be reported to the OS at all, much less applications.
  • nthingnthing Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3091Members
    edited August 2003
    You could put all of it into your <i>autoexec.cfg</i> if you wanted, but if you have <b>CAPSLOCK</b> bound in your <i>config.cfg</i> file then (I think) it would overwrite the bind in the <i>autoexec.cfg</i>.

    Best thing is to put the bind in <i>config.cfg</i> (making sure to get rid of any previous <b>CAPSLOCK</b> binds you have), but it's not strictly necessary that binds have to be in there.
  • elimelim Join Date: 2002-11-17 Member: 9006Members, Constellation
    Or you could just type +voicerecord and console and hit your voice speak key when done.
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    Ok, what worked for me was copying the config file, renaming it "autoexec" (since all saving it as something else does is mkae it "autoexec.cfg.txt" then I put the bind in the config and the other lines in the autoexec. Many thanks Nothing!
  • VidaL-lifeVidaL-life Join Date: 2003-06-26 Member: 17712Members
    All you have to do is /bind capslock "+voicerecord" in game


    THATS IT, THATS NOT SO HARD IS IT.
  • DecimatorDecimator Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8057Members
    edited August 2003
    No, VidaL-life, that doesn't do what i want. What that script allows me to do is hit the capslock button and be able to use my hotkeys while talking as comm. Just binding capslock to it would mean i would have to hold down the button.

    Edit: need to get names right...
  • VidaL-lifeVidaL-life Join Date: 2003-06-26 Member: 17712Members
    Oh ok sorry buddy, i need glasses. <!--emo&::nerdy::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/nerd.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='nerd.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • TeiohTeioh Canadia Join Date: 2002-11-20 Member: 9453Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--nØthing+Aug 23 2003, 08:55 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (nØthing @ Aug 23 2003, 08:55 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> This:

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias VoiceToggle "Voice_On"
    alias Voice_On "+voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_Off; dv1; echo  Started Voice Recording; dv0"
    alias Voice_Off "-voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_On; dv1; echo Stopped Voice Recording; dv0"

    bind CAPSLOCK "VoiceToggle"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    would work, but you would have to make sure that your capslock is turned off when you start the game. You cannot script a method of detecting when capslock is on or off without hooking into HL with some external executable.

    Just put that script in an <i>'autoexec.cfg'</i> file in your NS directory (if it doesn't exist, just create one with Notepad). Should work perfectly to your needs. I've decided to use it myself for commanding, now, actually <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Good idea <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Right next to your hotkeys.

    <b>EDIT:</b> Also, don't bind <b>+voicerecord</b> to a mouse button if you're planning on commanding. It messes up, I think (might have been fixed with 2.0). <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    you have to throw in:
    alias dv1 "developer 1"
    alias dv0 "developer 0"
  • JohnnySmashJohnnySmash Join Date: 2003-08-04 Member: 18870Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Ollj+Aug 23 2003, 08:52 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ollj @ Aug 23 2003, 08:52 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> a penny to keep a key down works wonders. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Wouldn't that have to be a really heavy penny? <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->

    -JohnnySmash
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    nØthing beat me to it, but I'll ammend his aliases slightly...

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias VoiceToggle "Voice_On"
    alias Voice_On "+voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_Off;  scr_connectmsg voicecom_active"
    alias Voice_Off "-voicerecord; alias VoiceToggle Voice_On; scr_connectmsg 0"

    bind CAPSLOCK "VoiceToggle"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
  • nthingnthing Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3091Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Dead_Dan+Aug 24 2003, 04:38 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Dead_Dan @ Aug 24 2003, 04:38 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> you have to throw in:
    alias dv1 "developer 1"
    alias dv0 "developer 0" <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Ah, of course. Silly me forgot about that. <!--emo&::nerdy::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/nerd.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='nerd.gif'><!--endemo-->

    The scr_connectmsg method will probobly be better anyway, so I'd use that. Nice one Skorpian! Much better for remembering to turn it off then.
  • ShadowcatShadowcat Join Date: 2003-01-18 Member: 12443Members
    Or, like me.. I can activate and deactivate things with voice, muehahaha.. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • XodlikeXodlike Join Date: 2003-06-03 Member: 16985Members
    n1 im puttin this into my big big big script when its done ill post it pretty much has every alias used throughout the whole ns forums..
Sign In or Register to comment.