Running listen server with LAN and WAN Clients

the_x5the_x5 the Xzianthian Join Date: 2004-03-02 Member: 27041Members, Constellation
<div class="IPBDescription">Can it be done?</div>Basically what the title says. I was trying to run an internet server and basically have somebody on my local network join. NS crashed solid (requiring CTRL+ALT+DEL to close NS). Then we tried joining an existing server. Whomever when first could get in but when second person attempted to join you'd get an error telling you that it failed to connect to the server. Oddly enough we could join different servers, just not the same one. Now the only thing I can guess is that we have the same WAN IP address, but isn't NS SteamID based? We had unique account e-mails and SteamIDs and we linked via a DGL-4300 Gaming Router to a cable modem to our ISP. It's odd that it caused my server to crash because I can run it with perfect stability otherwise. Even more odd that it ran for like a minute before it would crash. What is going on here? Is this something about Steam?

Comments

  • FaskaliaFaskalia Wechsellichtzeichenanlage Join Date: 2004-09-12 Member: 31651Members, Constellation
    We used to do something similiar on cstrike, back in the beta and won days.

    It should work with steam aswell, try using the following setup.

    1 PC with 2 Network cards! (this is the listen server)
    --This PC has 1 connection going out into the WAN and one connection going into a local LAN.

    The other clients with 1 network adapter. They need to start steam in offline mode and connect with the listen server through the lan OR they start in online mode and connect through the WAN.


    This is bound to work, cause you are keeping local clients and external clients on two seperate infastructures, with the listen server working as a bridge!

    Although with a correctly configured router it should also work, as you intended.
    I can host a listen server and my brother is able to connect to it through steam online mode, as well as pals from outside our own lan. (both our connections are going through the same router)
    I am also able to run a dediacted server and join it from another box with both cons going through the same router! So it is not steam alone.

    You might try to enalbe "gaming mode" if you router has an option like that. And then there is the usual router setup: forwarding ports, handing out ips, dhcp etc etc etc bla bla bla... Oh and using diffrent ports for the listen server and the client in the lan might be worth a try. (But I dont know where to change steam ports by heart <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=";)" border="0" alt="wink-fix.gif" />)
  • the_x5the_x5 the Xzianthian Join Date: 2004-03-02 Member: 27041Members, Constellation
    Well I do have an Asus Crosshair motherboard on this listenserver which does have two gigabit RJ-45 ports, but you see, he's trying to play through the wireless LAN. I noticed that if I set the LAN field to true when running the server he could join and I could devour my little brother as an onos just fine, but it's either WAN or LAN, not both. I guess my question is how do I do both. I run a internet (WAN) server and people on my LAN can still join. The router I have is a bad*** one, but the problem is with either NS, Steam, or Both.
  • DC_DarklingDC_Darkling Join Date: 2003-07-10 Member: 18068Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver
    or you solve this problem by making sure you work on different ports since thats your problem. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile-fix.gif" />

    * you all have ip 12.5.12.5 (made up) and all standard work on port 27015.
    * when joining the same server it sees 2 steamIDs on the exact same ip AND port. So it wants to send info to one client, but has 2 exact locations to send to. Thats a nono.
    * "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 70 -console -game ns +connect SERVERIP:27015
    * "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 70 -console -game ns +connect SERVERIP:27016

    There ya go. fixed right there. See the difference. The 2nd client should connect through a different port and its all fine. (well, it should be since you got different IDs)

    if thats a failure because you must have the server you want to join in the shortcut edit the config.cfg. There should be a +port or -port command. Now I don't know it from memory but the new steamconsole spits out all posibilities when you start typing so try that then.
  • FaskaliaFaskalia Wechsellichtzeichenanlage Join Date: 2004-09-12 Member: 31651Members, Constellation
    <!--quoteo(post=1618154:date=Apr 1 2007, 04:35 PM:name=DC_Darkling)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DC_Darkling @ Apr 1 2007, 04:35 PM) [snapback]1618154[/snapback]</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
    or you solve this problem by making sure you work on different ports since thats your problem. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile-fix.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile-fix.gif" />

    * you all have ip 12.5.12.5 (made up) and all standard work on port 27015.
    * when joining the same server it sees 2 steamIDs on the exact same ip AND port. So it wants to send info to one client, but has 2 exact locations to send to. Thats a nono.
    * "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 70 -console -game ns +connect SERVERIP:27015
    * "C:\Program Files\Steam\Steam.exe" -applaunch 70 -console -game ns +connect SERVERIP:27016

    There ya go. fixed right there. See the difference. The 2nd client should connect through a different port and its all fine. (well, it should be since you got different IDs)

    if thats a failure because you must have the server you want to join in the shortcut edit the config.cfg. There should be a +port or -port command. Now I don't know it from memory but the new steamconsole spits out all posibilities when you start typing so try that then.
    <!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    <!--quoteo--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Oh and using diffrent ports for the listen server and the client in the lan might be worth a try. (But I dont know where to change steam ports by heart wink-fix.gif)<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Shure about this?
    I always though you could run several servers on the same box, using diffrent ports for each server. Meaning that typing in connect SERVERIP:27015 would join the server created on 27015 and SERVERIP:27016 the one on 27016. I really was under the impression, that you needed to set the port used by HL in a config, cause using the connect method just tells the client to connect to the server with the ip blabla and the port blabla. I am not questioning the method of port seperation for the clients with the same IP. I just doubt it works through the connect console command.
  • DC_DarklingDC_Darkling Join Date: 2003-07-10 Member: 18068Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver
    meh.. been atleast 2 years since I tried to do it. Point is you CAN join your own server. Since your ip matches the ip of your server some port needs to change. Think I changed my server ip then. This should be the client one:

    add "+clientport 2700x" to the HL shortcut command line where x is the custom port.
Sign In or Register to comment.