Converting NS1 Models

rsdrsd Join Date: 2003-02-11 Member: 13405Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Anyone familiar with the required tools?</div>I'm keen to convert the NS1 models to the NS2 format (with textures and animations), but I don't have a clue where to begin. Lua I can do, modelling etc not so much.

Can anyone offer a step-by-stop tutorial using the armoury or something as an example?

Comments

  • SewlekSewlek The programmer previously known as Schimmel Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16247Members, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, Subnautica Developer
    actually you just have to convert them. I dont know anything about the ns2 model format, but extracting geometry and animations from mdl files could be
    done with milkshape. then you need a proper converter to get it to ns2s format. its not a big deal i think. Start with lua part and use the ns2 models and replace
    them later, i bet someone will convert them for you after you made some progress.
  • pSyk0mAnpSyk0mAn Nerdish by Nature Germany Join Date: 2003-08-07 Member: 19166Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Community Developer
    "you just have to convert them" lol..
    Seriously though, it should be pretty easy to convert model and texture, as said, via milkshape and tools, but I bet you'll have trouble with the rigging? and animations.
  • remiremi remedy [blu.knight] Join Date: 2003-11-18 Member: 23112Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester
    Pipi has already done this with the NS1 Lerk model. Not sure the exact process, but the result seemed to be perfectly fine in-game.
  • PipiPipi Join Date: 2009-12-09 Member: 69550Members
    Yeah I've done it with the NS1 Lerk.. it's not that complicated.
    The way I did it:

    Unpack the NS1 MDL file (using milkshape) to get all the seperated SMDs and BMPs. For the texture, re-save the BMP to a PSD and make the necessary material file.

    Import the reference model in 3Dsmax (plugin needed for SMD import) and re-apply the material file (UVW mapping coordinates should be all fine). Export in Collada DAE.

    Import every other relative SMDs (as they are only bones for animations) and export them all in Collada DAE with proper animation names (like walk, jump, idle)

    When you make your model_compile file, you'll have the line that states the geometry file (the reference model) and other lines of code that state all the animation nodes from other Collada files.

    Here's what I wrote for the NS1 lerk:
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><model>
        <geometry "alien_level3.dae" />
        <animation idle "alien_level3_idle.dae" 0 30 1 />
        <animation walk "alien_level3_walk.dae" 0 30 1 />
        <animation takeoff "alien_level3_takeoff.dae" 0 37 0 />
        <animation land "alien_level3_land.dae" 0 40 0 />
        <animation fly "alien_level3_fly.dae" 0 10 1 />
        <animation glide "alien_level3_glide.dae" 0 10 1 />
    </model><!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
    animation <reference name> <"filename"> <starting frame> <ending frame> <loop> and there are other settings that I haven't used.

    The builder will compile all of this into one single model file.


    Hope that helps.
  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer
    <!--quoteo(post=1768188:date=Apr 21 2010, 01:16 PM:name=Pipi)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Pipi @ Apr 21 2010, 01:16 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1768188"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec--><!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1--><model>
        <geometry "alien_level3.dae" />
        <animation idle "alien_level3_idle.dae" 0 30 1 />
        <animation walk "alien_level3_walk.dae" 0 30 1 />
        <animation takeoff "alien_level3_takeoff.dae" 0 37 0 />
        <animation land "alien_level3_land.dae" 0 40 0 />
        <animation fly "alien_level3_fly.dae" 0 10 1 />
        <animation glide "alien_level3_glide.dae" 0 10 1 />
    </model><!--c2--></div><!--ec2--><!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Should actually be:

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->geometry "alien_level3.dae"
    animation idle "alien_level3_idle.dae"
    animation walk "alien_level3_walk.dae"
    animation takeoff "alien_level3_takeoff.dae"
    animation land "alien_level3_land.dae"
    animation fly "alien_level3_fly.dae"
    animation glide "alien_level3_glide.dae"<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->

    I guess our parser just ignores the extra stuff.
  • PipiPipi Join Date: 2009-12-09 Member: 69550Members
    Oh then, thanks for the clarification Max !

    The way I wrote the model_compile file was based on a PDF I've downloaded somewhere in an old post.
    But this is much simpler, hehe. I guess the starting and ending frames informations are needed only if there are several animations in the same Collada file.
Sign In or Register to comment.