Optimisations ideas

IronsoulIronsoul Join Date: 2011-03-12 Member: 86048Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Unnofficial, uninformed, under the sea</div>alright, I should first start off that I am a beginner programmer, I don't really know much at all. But hear me out.
What I present is a bunch of possible optimisations that might improve client side performance and/or server performance.

First up, is the fact that when a server tickrate goes down, so does my fps... why is that? Is it because rendering each frame is linked
to the rate the game world updates? I can only assume it is. It's especially obvious when i have high ping, because I'm receiving data at a delayed rate, and my fps gets worse.
How to fix, well, first up, I would think that separating rendering from updating the game world would be a nice start.

My main idea, is a system which puts more strain onto the server(possibly), and hopefully less strain onto the clients.

How this is done:

The server can tell where the players are, but a player on one side of the map, doesn't really need to know exactly what another player on the other side of the map is doing.

In the same way you get hydras to "sleep", you can get a server to detect when people are too far away from other players to matter, then cause the updates of that player to reduce to x,y coordinates only(no health, gunfire, look direction etc), and then slow those upates to once a second. You could probably use the same occlusion culling mechanism to make it work.

Problems with that: audio, you would still want to hear enemies on the other side of a wall, so perhaps you could send audio only as well as x,y coordinates. But even then, keep the updates to once or 5 times a second). That way, you will still get the sense you can tell where the enemies are, at a reasonably smooth rate, but save on not needing to update everything else. This would save hugely on bandwidth.