Game Server performance as hardware progresses

Sling_BladeSling_Blade Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3412Members, Reinforced - Shadow
If any of the devs have time to respond, I had a general question about server performance I've been wondering about. I'm a programmer, but not a game programmer, so I'm a bit clueless in this area. Server hardware and internet bandwidth has increased exponentially over the years, but I certainly can't say I've noticed, from a gamer's perspective, any exponential improvement in the number of players a server can handle. Why is this? Or are servers simply doing a lot more behind the scenes that I'm not aware of? Has programming the server side gotten any easier and required less optimization from NS1?

Comments

• ClonesaClonesa Join Date: 2012-02-05 Member: 143691Members
    edited February 2012
    Bandwitdth has not improved very much at all actually. At least not in North America.

And while server power has increased dramatically so too has the power demanded by games. 32 players today is not equivalent to 32 players 10 years ago. The server never requires less optimization. Thats kind of a scary way to think of things.
  • MOOtantMOOtant Join Date: 2010-06-25 Member: 72158Members