First thoughts and impressions

AurexAurex Join Date: 2013-01-18 Member: 180477Members
Hi there. I'm kind of new to the game, having played just less than 20 hours, and i'd like to share some first impressions of the game as a way to introduce myself. First things first, the overall feeling of the game is definitely good - maps are excellent, both gameplay and aesthetic wise. Gameplay is quick yet tactic, filled with tense moments. The commander interface is, while a little confusing at first, excellent at making you feel like a real field commander. I was surprised at how the pacing keeps you on your toes, and i jumped on my chair more than a couple of times (skulks getting out of nowhere, grr!). Unfortunately, many thing are preventing me to fully enjoy the game. Technical problems come first: while i'm running a not-so-new rig (q9400@3.4 ghz, 4870 1gb, 8gb ddr 1333) i feel that this game performs horribly. At 1920*1080, with everything on low / off / minimal i usually get 30 to 40 fps on a fresh started match and less than 15 when there are multiple exos/onos on the map. I followed many advices on how to improve performance, to no avail. Then there's the, well, community problem. I did expect a more welcoming player base, considering the fact that this is a tactical fps requiring teamplay and coordination. For example: in my first matches, all played on rookie servers, i got talk trashed for not having a microphone, for not following orders that i could not understand - being muffled in language i'm not so good at, and for choosing the wrong alien class / marine equipment (according to someone). When i played commander for the first time, after following lots of guides, youtube videos and such, i found myself in a just started match - perfect for learning the ropes on commanding, i thought. Boy, i was wrong. Every minute there was someone yelling at me, calling my non-existent sister names and trying to boot me via vote. I don't think i played that bad, and i sur