Question about map creation difference between NS2 mapping and NS2 Combat

eliotmateliotmat Join Date: 2002-12-01 Member: 10350Members, Reinforced - Shadow
Hi All,

I'm new to mapping. Seraph was nice enough to let me watch him work and gave me some fantastic guidance that got me off to a great start.

I've finished the first draft of my first combat map I'm calling co_battlechamber. I've followed Mendasp's top-notch video about the basic requirements of NS2 mapping.

However, my map is for combat.

what entities do I need to set so the game launches in combat mode?

What is required for a combat map? I'm not talking design advice, necessarily.

Lastly, this isn't necessarily important to combat, but I can only see right above the lowest floor when in commander mode. All the other rooms are black. Any tips on "location" entity properties to ensure commander can view the map correctly?

Any help and guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks All!

Comments

• dragonmithdragonmith Join Date: 2013-02-04 Member: 182817Members, Reinforced - Diamond
    edited May 2013
    The one thing I can think of is rather than NSgamerules, you need the combat version...
    Also, some entities from Val. need to be included. (e.g, minimap, set spawns for alien and marine)
    luckily, in some cases combat seems to be easier to build.

This may be design, but something to really consider is jetpack rushes. You can get a lot more people going jetpacks, and say a vent leads right into alien hive... That may not be a problem for you however :)

*Insert obligatory advertising for S.C.C here*

I think simply being in the presence of these guys helps :P

Hope that helps slightly, Howser should post after me and clear more points.
  • DarkSeraphDarkSeraph Join Date: 2004-06-07 Member: 29174Members
    eliotmat wrote: »
    what entities do I need to set so the game launches in combat mode?

What is required for a combat map? I'm not talking design advice, necessarily.