[Linux] NS2 black screen if steam notifications are shown.

MilanFINMilanFIN Join Date: 2013-09-18 Member: 188323Members
As in the title, when steam says a friend of mine is playing something on the bottom right of the screen the screen goes black with ns cursor shown only. Same happens with skype notifications.

Using 13.8 beta drivers on Mint 15 on radeon hd6850, fx-8320.
other than that game is fine.

Comments

• GrowlyWalrusGrowlyWalrus Join Date: 2013-05-21 Member: 185319Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    I'm having a similar problem, but it seems to be happening all the time when I'm not in windowed mode. Here's a full report, with my ns2.log attached. Let me know if there's any other information you guys need. I'm new to linux, but I'm also a software engineer so I'm diving into it as much as I can.

Black screen appears with only the cursor and an orange square surrounding it. All sound effects work, as does the menu button. Video displays fine in windowed mode, but problem appears in either fullscreen windowed or fullscreen modes. During the run when this log was taken, I switched from windowed to fullscreen windowed, at which point it resumed displaying all black with the orange cursor. All sounds & buttons seemed to continue functioning.

I'm running a Radeon HD7800 series with 2GB DDR5 video ram on the latest elementaryOS 64 bit distribution with a i5-2500 & 8GB system memory. Video drivers drivers are the latest fglrx from the AMD website, listed in the catalyst control center with
    Driver Packaging Version 13.20.11-130814a-161038E-ATI
    and
    OpenGL Version 4.2.12441 Compatibility Profile Context 13.20.11
    I should also note I have Catalyst A.I disabled.

I have opted into the steam client beta, however I tried opting out & restarting with no success.
  • ConfusedConfused Wait. What? Join Date: 2003-01-28 Member: 12904Members, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Subnautica Playtester
    Howdy,