Several Questions On Ns Mapping

stingeragentstingeragent Join Date: 2002-11-23 Member: 9738Members
<div class="IPBDescription">questions</div> Ok. I have mapped for HL, CS, and TFC but its been a while back. First off, I set up my configs and stuff and used zoners HLT as my compiler stuff. Am I supposed to use compilers specific to ns?
Next, I told it to put maps in valve/maps after compiling, just so I can test my map as I go along. Well I have the NS wads and HL wad in my config. Whenever it compiles and runs HL, it says couldn't open Half-Life/Valve/NS.wad or something like that. I know this means its looking for ns.wad in that folder but whys it looking for it there and not just in the NS folder? if i move it to valve folder wont it mess up with everyone else when I do a final compile?
Also on the final compile, since it doesn't have a NS configuration,, can someone tell me all the commands I need to put in?

Guess thats about it.

Comments

  • BiTMAPBiTMAP Join Date: 2002-11-08 Member: 7685Members
    why don't you run it in NS it will actualy work then.
  • VyvnVyvn Join Date: 2002-08-24 Member: 1226Members
    Alright, I'll try and answer these questions.

    There is no specific NS compiler. Either use the default VHE compiler, or a separate one like HLCC.

    There is *no* reason why you wouldn't just set it up as you did with any other mod. Go to Tools>Options and set the map folder to SIERRA\Half-Life\ns\maps, and add the wad file SIERRA\Half-Life\ns\ns.wad.

    There's no difference between a "test" compile and a "final" compile. In the command line put "- game ns" (without the quotes) and it should run ok.

    Oh yeah, and make sure you're using the ns fgd too.
  • MerkabaMerkaba Digital Harmony Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 22Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester
    Are you sure Half-Life is being run with the '-game ns' parameter?

    e.g. C:\Games\Half-Life\HL.exe -dev -console <b>-game ns</b> +map mymap
  • DEADscottDEADscott Join Date: 2003-03-29 Member: 15022Members, Constellation
    -dev -console -game ns So I should copy my hl.ex and paste a shortcut, add this line to it, and point Hammer game executable to that shortcut? I did ok with the hl map tutorials. Now moving to NS. I followed ChromeAngel's set up guide for worldcraft/hammer. When I try to run my map, which is just a rr room, I get "couldn't open valve/ns.wad" error. I see that I should run my H-l though my NS but am unsure how to do this through Hammer. Any help would be great! Thanks.
  • taledentaleden Join Date: 2003-04-06 Member: 15252Members, Constellation
    edited April 2003
    If you open Hammer's advanced compile options, you'll see a list of commands that Hammer will execute when you tell it to compile. There is an implicit 'export .rmf to .map' that is not listed, but you can assume Hammer will do that no matter what kind of compile you tell it to do. Generally the first thing listed there is 'change directory' to your game executable directory - it will probably show up as "$exe_dir" in the compile list, but this refers to the setting under Options that points to the game executable. After that it should list hlcsg, hlbsp, hlvis, hlrad, and possibly opt_plns or other post-compile utils. After that it should copy yourmap.bsp and yourmap.pts to your map directory, which has the symbol "$bspdir" and should be set to something like "d:\games\halflife\ns\maps" (also under Options), and way down at the bottom will be the line that runs NS and loads your map. The options to this command are what you want to double check - the command itself will look like "$game_exe" (another Options setting), and arguments to this command should include "-dev -console -game ns +map yourmap" at the very least.

    So, in short, there's no need to point Hammer to a shortcut - you can cut out the middle step and just have Hammer call Halflife (hl.exe) directly with the correct paramaters.

    -tal, Almighty Lord of Long Answers to Short Questions
  • DEADscottDEADscott Join Date: 2003-03-29 Member: 15022Members, Constellation
    Thank you. This is it. It works now.
  • oOTOooOTOo Join Date: 2003-04-11 Member: 15401Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Merkaba+Nov 23 2002, 09:38 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Merkaba @ Nov 23 2002, 09:38 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Are you sure Half-Life is being run with the '-game ns' parameter?

    e.g. C:\Games\Half-Life\HL.exe -dev -console <b>-game ns</b> +map mymap <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Personaly, i have a HL shortcut with these -game ns +map mymap pararameters for testing maps, and it works.

    my line is : C:\SIERRA\Half-Life\hl.exe -game ns -console -developer 1 +map mymap -window 1024 -heapsize 150000
Sign In or Register to comment.