Lua and Modding questions

corundcorund Siberia Join Date: 2015-04-13 Member: 203372Members
edited May 2015 in Modding
Hello!
Instead of making new topic for each question i will post them in this single thread and hope that somebody will answer :)

Question1:
Lua does not have classes or reserved keyword "class" but i regularly come across lines like this:
class "Tutorial" (Entity)
What is this? I failed to find "class" definition if it is a function. There is a file class.lua in "core" folder but it does not contain definition of the "class". I'm new in Lua, probably it is stupid question.

Comments

• corundcorund Siberia Join Date: 2015-04-13 Member: 203372Members
    Question2:
    I want to make singleplayer mod and looks like existing Marine Tutorial is the correct place to start with. How could i load modified version of MarineTutorial.lua? I put modified file in MODDIR/lua and MODDIR/tutorial/lua and tried to hot-load mod but nothing happens. In the same time modified version of client.lua loads correctly from folder MODDIR/lua.
  • GhoulofGSG9GhoulofGSG9 Join Date: 2013-03-31 Member: 184566Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Reinforced - Supporter, WC 2013 - Supporter, Pistachionauts
    edited May 2015
    1. These "lua classes" are a custom lua interpreter construct of spark handled directly by the C++ code. Think about them for now as lua classes with some extras (e.g. later you can fetch all created entities of one class).

2. The tutorial itself is a mod! The general project setup for ns2 mods is the following:
    • lua – contains all game code files ( .lua files)
    • models – contains all models the game uses (.model, .material and .dds files)
    • maps – contains all map files (.level files )
    • materials – materials and textures used by the maps ( .material and .dds files )