GAME SIZE!

SPIRIN1224SPIRIN1224 Moon Join Date: 2015-04-15 Member: 203469Members
edited December 2015 in Ideas and Suggestions
I have been noticing lately that the game files are increasingly big, looking through files I see just a lot of (junk) not like that, I'm not an expert, but I think you could combine game files/assets. Maybe look through and try to compress just a little.

Only have 60gb with of memory, and Subanutica is about 8gb right now, soon to be 12+ after H.20 Update!!!

thoughts, comments, (DEVS Especially)

@Hugh

Comments

• LordDerpLordDerp Netherlands Join Date: 2015-09-10 Member: 207871Members
    TBH, 8 GB (and 12GB as well) are still pretty small for modern games. I for instance have multiple games exceeding the 20gb on my harddrive.
    Harddrives (especially the 1TB ones) are pretty cheap these days, can't you save up for a new one?
  • RevivedShadowRevivedShadow Australia Join Date: 2015-07-28 Member: 206468Members
    I think they will clean the files up later. Now it is not a priority
  • LuitjensLuitjens Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 73034Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester
    edited December 2015
    8gb is nothing today! Just cause 3 is 50GB and GTA 5 is 84GB
    If that is an SSD, you should stick a 1TB hard-drive in there then, they have gotten plenty cheap US$50~ for 1TB
  • SPIRIN1224SPIRIN1224 Moon Join Date: 2015-04-15 Member: 203469Members
    edited December 2015
    Going though times man, besides having to plug in a big hard drive and carrying that everywhere with me is not very feasible!

P.S. where can you find those 50$ 1tb at?

P.P.S Also it is just a suggestion, if it is feasible it is good to "clean" out old files and junk files.

It's not a big deal, beside thats why I went on the forum, to get everyones opinion! :)
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue