Texture Memory

AngelAngel Join Date: 2002-07-09 Member: 902Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Ideas . . . ?</div> How do I reduce texture memory in my map? So far I have 5.36mb - I would like some ideas on how to lower it please.

PS: Would this idea help? Taking a brush that is 512 Wide and 256 long and contains a texture with 256x256 spanned twice over the surface, now if I chopped it in half would it decrease the texture memory?

Comments

  • RhoadsToNowhereRhoadsToNowhere i r 8 Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 33Members
    Texture memory isn't affected by the brushwork in your map at all, only by the textures that you choose. I can think of two good ways to decrease your texture memory, though:

    1)Use fewer textures. If you can replace one texture by another, that's one fewer texture that Half-life has to load, which will result in lower texture memory. This is especially useful with small trim textures.

    2)Reduce the size of your textures. You mentioned that you have a few 256x256 textures, so you could try resizing them to 128x128 in photoshop, re-applying the new texture, and doubling the texture scale. It won't look quite as good, but you will have reduced r_speeds and lower patches as a side effect.
  • blue2kblue2k Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4025Members
    resize your textures in your .wad and rescale them larger in game, not all textures need to be 256 x 256, on compile itll chop them to 240 x 240 anyway. this should reduce the file size, also try using null to remove some unwanted faces.
  • DanDaManDanDaMan Join Date: 2002-03-19 Member: 335Members
    edited December 2002
    there's been a lot of discussion about the 240 texture size. I'm inclined to agree that it's bad to make 240 texxtures because they decrease texture quality. Just use 256 textures with a 16 pixel border and apply them to 240 unit faces. And I'm pretty sure null won't decrease your texturememory any. Not unless you make custom fitting textures for all of the faces that look out onto the void.
  • AngelAngel Join Date: 2002-07-09 Member: 902Members
    If i changed all my textures not facing where the player will see to something like the "aaatrigger" will that help?
  • ZaziZazi Join Date: 2002-05-26 Member: 672Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    No, it won't. In fact, if you haven't used that texture already, it will add to your texture memory count. Resize all your textures in wally or some sort. At least the ones that are big. I have not used a single texture that is over 128x128, and I have 119 textures in my map. Sooo.... <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • CrAcKbRoCkCrAcKbRoCk Join Date: 2002-11-22 Member: 9619Members
    edited December 2002
    Probably my favorite method to reduce texture memory is use only parts of a texture in certain area. EG: the textures from hall**.wad can be used as walls and trim. Just align your textures so only part of it shows up. That way you can reuse the same texture multiple times, but it doesn't look the same, instead of using sepearate textures. When I applied this to the level I'm working on now my texture memory dropped from 3.82 MB to 2.72MB, quite a big savings. Hope this helps.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Don't use animated textures, each frame of the animation is counted toward your texture memory. I freed like 2 meg just by taking out 1 animated texture.
  • AngelAngel Join Date: 2002-07-09 Member: 902Members
    Cheers guys your all a great help <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> Although I must say not many of my 27 textures are bigger than 128x128, in actual fact only two are and I get a whopping 4.93mb of texture memory.
  • blue2kblue2k Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4025Members
    maybe your getting a "false positive", this is where you get a false texture memory footprint for your map, usually if you recompile this may change.
Sign In or Register to comment.