Random Team Joining.

HtNickoliHtNickoli Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9786Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Is a pluggin possible?</div> Not ever havening bothered trying to write a pluggin. I was wondering if someone with the knowledge would know if its possible to create a plugin that would force random team joining on a map.

IE: Disable marine/kharra protals and the console team join commands?

Comments

  • cracker_jackmaccracker_jackmac Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6891Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--[Ht]Nickoli+Jan 4 2003, 09:29 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([Ht]Nickoli @ Jan 4 2003, 09:29 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Not ever havening bothered trying to write a pluggin. I was wondering if someone with the knowledge would know if its possible to create a plugin that would force random team joining on a map.

    IE: Disable marine/kharra protals and the console team join commands?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    you could use a stripper (by botman) to strip them out of the maps. Nero and I are working on using it to remove useless lights from hera, tanith and such for better performance.
  • j0ej0e Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2840Banned
    i already used ripent to strip all the sprites, particles, and ambient sounds out of bast and hera. reduced pings by about 200 (YMMV) - email me if you want them or the .ent file. or should i just post them?

    you could easily convert the join team entities to make them all random, but most good players have team joins bound to keys anyway. you need a way to catch those commands and convert them to random
  • cracker_jackmaccracker_jackmac Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6891Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    Plz post the files, is ripent doze only? or is it linux too?
  • ArkaineArkaine Join Date: 2002-07-12 Member: 914Members
    I'm assuming that when you enter a portal, it issues a console command:
    1. jointeamone
    2. jointeamtwo

    Could Admin Mod intercept this? I know that there are things that it can't...
    If so, then it could go "<i>Oh, you want to join teamone? Let's randomly pick a team that you're REALLY going to join.</i>"
  • ECA_ShocK-TroopeRECA_ShocK-TroopeR Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11472Banned
    i have a feeling this would REALLY **** off some people. ill have a shot at a mm plugin perhaps
  • j0ej0e Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2840Banned
    ripent is a little command line dos util you can run on any box (w/o any HL stuff installed) so if you are all linux, jsut put ripent and the bsp file on a win box to edit it

    ok i put all the files up at <a href='http://www.joe.to/ns' target='_blank'>http://www.joe.to/ns</a> - let me know if there's anything else i can do
  • voogruvoogru Naturally Modified (ex. NS programmer) Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1827Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    <!--QuoteBegin--Arkaine+Jan 4 2003, 04:00 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Arkaine @ Jan 4 2003, 04:00 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I'm assuming that when you enter a portal, it issues a console command:
    1. jointeamone
    2. jointeamtwo

    Could Admin Mod intercept this?  I know that there are things that it can't...
    If so, then it could go "<i>Oh, you want to join teamone?  Let's randomly pick a team that you're REALLY going to join.</i>"<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    No, When you go into a portal "DispatchTouch" is used, the only way to intercept a player from going into a portal server-side is to detect when a player touches a info_team_join, you could detect that and force them to randomly go to team 1 or team 2 (by running client command on them or making them touch another portal).


    Not sure if admin mod can do that, but metamod can.

    If you want ill make a plugin that does this, its very easy.
  • Tcquest78Tcquest78 Join Date: 2002-12-17 Member: 10949Members
    Would you release the source? <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->. I'd be interested in seeing how you found out when a client touched info_team_join...
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--voogru+Jan 4 2003, 06:03 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (voogru @ Jan 4 2003, 06:03 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--><!--QuoteBegin--Arkaine+Jan 4 2003, 04:00 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Arkaine @ Jan 4 2003, 04:00 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I'm assuming that when you enter a portal, it issues a console command:
    1. jointeamone
    2. jointeamtwo

    Could Admin Mod intercept this?  I know that there are things that it can't...
    If so, then it could go "<i>Oh, you want to join teamone?  Let's randomly pick a team that you're REALLY going to join.</i>"<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    No, When you go into a portal "DispatchTouch" is used, the only way to intercept a player from going into a portal server-side is to detect when a player touches a info_team_join, you could detect that and force them to randomly go to team 1 or team 2 (by running client command on them or making them touch another portal).


    Not sure if admin mod can do that, but metamod can.

    If you want ill make a plugin that does this, its very easy.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    hehehe, and if he doesn't do it I will
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    bah, nobody likes waiting.....

    any portal a player walks into will be re-routed to the random team portal, any time a player types either "jointeamone" or "jointeamtwo" they will get sent to the random portal.

    This plugin requires that a random portal exists on the map to work. Any map not containing a random team portal will behave like a normal map when a player enters a portal or uses a team joining command. This is because I have no idea if a command even exists to join a random team so I basically HAD to rely on the existance of the info_join_autoassign entity

    plugin and source, usual 2 line banner
  • ECA_ShocK-TroopeRECA_ShocK-TroopeR Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11472Banned
    ****, i was just about to post mine <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> now im all sad. my little chance at fame destroyed!


    them, can you reply to the pm i sent you (the reply to the one u sent me)
  • KingKahuna[KKG]™KingKahuna[KKG]™ Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9507Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--[WHO]Them+Jan 4 2003, 07:06 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> ([WHO]Them @ Jan 4 2003, 07:06 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->hehehe, and if he doesn't do it I will<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    LMAO, we've been doing this for over 2 months now. HAHAHAHA

    Voogru ROCKS!

    I would ONLY pressume that if you could do it; you already would have. The very day 1.03 came out; and locked each player from changing teams; we had this fix.

    Voogru is da man!
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    <!--QuoteBegin--kInG kAhUnA+Jan 4 2003, 10:02 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (kInG kAhUnA @ Jan 4 2003, 10:02 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I would ONLY pressume that if you could do it; you already would have.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I'm lazy, so I don't always get things done right away :/

    <!--QuoteBegin--kInG kAhUnA+Jan 4 2003, 10:02 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (kInG kAhUnA @ Jan 4 2003, 10:02 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    kInG kAhUnA
    aim - pmaner30043
    msn - pmaner@msn.com
    Voogru Forums - www.voogru.com
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    msn - pmaner@<b>msn.com</b> <-------- lol, another victim of the butterfly
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    hmmm, apparently there was a command to autoselect a team, "autoassign", so.... here's the new version of the random team plugin that makes use of that command when there is no random team portal on the map.
  • EvilGrinEvilGrin Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6851Members
    Deja-vu, we've been here before kids <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=8&t=8687&hl=' target='_blank'>http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/in...&f=8&t=8687&hl=</a>
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
  • j0ej0e Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2840Banned
    there's a difference - as i said above:

    "you could easily convert the join team entities to make them all random, but most good players have team joins bound to keys anyway. you need a way to catch those commands and convert them to random"

    this plugin supposedly does that (right?)
  • ECA_ShocK-TroopeRECA_ShocK-TroopeR Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11472Banned
    yep, thats bout right. dont give us any credit for the autoassign bit, took me 1hr to work that one out <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • HtNickoliHtNickoli Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9786Members
    WOW, thanks guys. I wanted this type of a plugin more to get the games going then to actually balance teams. I've found that you always get 5 or 6 ppl just sitting in ither Marines or Kharaa portals waiting endlessly to get on one team. When the other team lacks players and NS wont allow them to join. By the time someone finally decides to join the other team to balance teams.(and let more players in) The 4 on 2 players imbalance has pretty well decided the outcome of the round. And after thinking about it for a bit. Useing the team join cvars in console to join a team is fine. I don't want to force everyone onto random teams. I wanted to just get the players sitting endlessly in team portals in the game.

    I didn't realize this topic was already covered. Amazed I never seen that older post. As I usually visit these forums daily.(least when they are working) All the same thanks for the quick responce guys.
  • voogruvoogru Naturally Modified (ex. NS programmer) Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1827Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    Even though [WHO]Them released a plug-in that does this, Im going to throw in my 2 cents.

    This has two levels of auto assigning players to teams:

    Level 1 (nsa_random_teams 1) will make it if a player goes thru the portals he will always join a random team jointeamtwo and jointeamone will work tho.
    Level 2 (nsa_random_teams 2) will do the same as level 1, but when they do the jointeam commands it will be random.

    nsa_random_teams is default to 0 so make sure you set it in server.cfg

    Plug-in and source also now compiled for linux:
    <a href='http://www.voogru.net/www/randomteam_mm.zip' target='_blank'>http://www.voogru.net/www/randomteam_mm.zip</a>


    Only difference between mine and his, Mine doesnt have a connection message <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    edited January 2003
    <!--QuoteBegin--voogru+Jan 5 2003, 09:29 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (voogru @ Jan 5 2003, 09:29 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Only difference between mine and his, Mine doesnt have a connection message <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    /me shakes fist in spite

    "Next time Gadget.............next time"

    hehehehehe, I have been thwarted by my arch nemesis
  • voogruvoogru Naturally Modified (ex. NS programmer) Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1827Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
  • [WHO]Them[WHO]Them You can call me Dave Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10593Members, Constellation
    WHOOPS,

    I'm sorry to everyone that tried to install this on a windows server, I made a booboo that wouldn't let it load.

    Here's a re-build of the previous version but now it should actually work on windows servers, no difference for linux servers.
  • ECA_ShocK-TroopeRECA_ShocK-TroopeR Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11472Banned
    i should have posted mine

    Them used my autoassign <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> so i think i should have posted mine

    moh well
  • NeroNero Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11236Members
    edited January 2003
    err, dint work for me, for some reason.. the marine/alien team gates are still acepting players
    forget it, i changd the plugin and works now
  • ECA_ShocK-TroopeRECA_ShocK-TroopeR Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11472Banned
    the alien and marine gates are meant to accept players, they get turned into random tho
Sign In or Register to comment.