4mb texture limit

MechaMecha Join Date: 2002-05-01 Member: 564Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Question on what i can and can't do</div>I really do not understand this 4MB texture limit stuff, it seems to be something about the wad file getting loaded into memory or something, and that means if the file size is too large older video cards can’t handle it. Anyway can someone please explain this to me in detail, because I really need to use custom textures in my map and I would like to know what I can and can’t do.

Comments

  • Black_WolfBlack_Wolf Join Date: 2002-03-13 Member: 310Members
    it means your compile log can only say 4mb of textures have been used, ie up to 100% texdata without modification of the texture limit.
  • MechaMecha Join Date: 2002-05-01 Member: 564Members
    So it's okay to use a complete set of custom textures, so long as all the textures in your map don't have a size greater than 4MB
  • PlaguebearerPlaguebearer Join Date: 2002-03-21 Member: 338Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    And as long as the textures are 'ns style'.  Leave no floor ungrungy!
  • YamazakiYamazaki Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 21Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Grunge schmunge.

    The future has mops, I tell you! MOPS!
  • Shuvit_ViperShuvit_Viper Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 62Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Yamazaki+May 23 2002,16:35--></span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td><b>Quote</b> (Yamazaki @ May 23 2002,16:35)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE"><!--QuoteEBegin-->Grunge schmunge.

    The future has mops, I tell you! MOPS!<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    you try to clean an old infested spaceship after it been recaptured... i feel terrible sorry for the NSA cleaning company...
  • KilltoyKilltoy Join Date: 2002-03-28 Member: 358Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--></span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td><b>Quote</b> </td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE"><!--QuoteEBegin-->The future has mops, I tell you! MOPS!<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Yeah but last I checked, the aliens lack the fine manipulators to actually <i>use</i> a mop...
  • KungFuSquirrelKungFuSquirrel Basher of Muttons Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 103Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Level 1s just run and slide across the floor. Level 2s spit at the mess, trying to dissolve it, and generally make it worse. Level 3's sweep everything under their wings. Level 4s actually use the mops, but have a terrible habit of breaking the handle. This leaves the level 5, who just wraps the whip-things around the handle and flails the mop around until things look clean.
  • realityisdeadrealityisdead Employed by Raven Software after making ns_nothing Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 94Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    LOL,

    Anyways, yeah... check out <a href="http://www.natural-selection.org/cgi-bin/ikonboard/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=4;t=2375" target="_blank">this</a> before getting too involved in the texture creation. Not everything has to be totally mucky or dirty... but it still needs to convey the same "NS Feel". Look at NS_Bast for example. It's not exactly a grimy dump... but it's consistent enough in the texturing to feel like NS.

    Oh... and the texture limit. It does not mean that individual textures cannot exceed 4MB... it means all of the textures as a whole may not. In other words, take each texture used in your level and find the sum of all their filesizes combined. That sum can not exceed 4MB.

    As a (far fetched) example: Let's say you apply four textures to a room: WALL001, WALL002, WALL003, and WALL004.

    "WALL001" is 100KB... "WALL002" is 1MB... "WALL003" is 900KB... "WALL004" is 2MB. You've hit the limit there, and unless you get smaller textures, those four would be the only ones you'd be able to use in the level. Keep in mind it only includes the textures actually used in the level in this sum.

    (At least that's how I always have understood it.)



    <!--EDIT|ken20banks|May 23 2002,12:32-->
  • KilltoyKilltoy Join Date: 2002-03-28 Member: 358Members
    <i>Killtoy envisions a level 1 using his spike-like arms to spear random articles of trash.</i>

    You know, you're right. Maybe these alien guys aren't too bad after all...
  • nrbynrby Join Date: 2002-03-05 Member: 270Members
    add -texdata 8192 to your compile tool exe's command lines for an 8 meg limit. Must be Zoners tools.
  • realityisdeadrealityisdead Employed by Raven Software after making ns_nothing Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 94Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Thanks for the tip. <!--emo&:)--><img src="http://www.natural-selection.org/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'><!--endemo-->

    But it <i>is</i> required that we stay under the 4meg limit with NS though, isn't it?
  • nrbynrby Join Date: 2002-03-05 Member: 270Members
    if thats true i'm buggered.
  • realityisdeadrealityisdead Employed by Raven Software after making ns_nothing Join Date: 2002-01-26 Member: 94Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    I honestly have no idea what the official stance on that is...

    -Edit- Nevermind...



    <!--EDIT|ken20banks|May 24 2002,01:23-->
  • PlaguebearerPlaguebearer Join Date: 2002-03-21 Member: 338Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    I'm 99% sure Flayra said that to be considered for officialness, we'd have to stay under 4megs, because he wants to keep compatibility with older systems.
  • MonsieurEvilMonsieurEvil Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 4Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    4Mb is the upper limit for software rendering, if I recall. It was not going to be negotiable unless the requirement for software support was dropped, which is still up in the air.
  • FlayraFlayra Game Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment San Francisco Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 3Super Administrators, NS2 Developer, Subnautica Developer
    Actually, software rendering can deal with a higher texture limit then hardware rendering can, because software stores them in system memory, instead of requiring that they be stored on the video card.  The 4MB limit is to allow 4MB cards to work better.  Of course, this doesn't include textures for the models and sprites, but it should be about right.

    Both bast and hera stayed within the 4 MB limit, and they are probably the biggest maps you'll ever see in NS.  Yep, it's still our limit.
  • KilltoyKilltoy Join Date: 2002-03-28 Member: 358Members
    I seem to recall bringing this subject up when I ran into the limit. The answer I got at the time was that 4megs was a requirement for acceptance.

    Heh, don't you love it when your post gets nullified by another post that appears while you write?  <!--emo&:)--><img src="http://www.natural-selection.org/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'><!--endemo-->



    <!--EDIT|Killtoy|May 24 2002,01:57-->
Sign In or Register to comment.