Keybinding Help

EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
<div class="IPBDescription">I'm an idiot nub and I need help :p</div> Ahhh... ok. I really don't want to post this here, because im sure the problem is very simple and very obvious and I will be very very emberrased when someone points out my mistake - but its either this or I keep dicking with things for a week until I figure it out on my own. So i'll just use the excuse that im relatively new to HL keybinding to comfort myself while I (hopefully) enlist someone elses help.

Now would someone please explain, in their most gentile "ur a frikkin nub but I won't flame you yet" voice, WHY this doesn't work?

<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
Bind "Mouse3" "Build"
Bind "PGUP" "Build_Up"
Bind "PGDN" "Build_Dn"




alias Build "Build_OC"
alias Build_Up "B_HV"
alias Build_Dn "B_SC"

alias Build_OC "impulse 91"
alias Build_SC "impulse 93"
alias Build_DC "impulse 92"
alias Build_MC "impulse 94"
alias Build_RT "impulse 90"
alias Build_HV "impulse 95"

alias B_OC "alias Build Build_OC; d1; echo -[Building Offensive Chamber]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_HV; alias Build_Dn B_SC"
alias B_SC "alias Build Build_SC; d1; echo -[Building Sensory Chamber]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_OC; alias Build_Dn B_DC"
alias B_DC "alias Build Build_DC; d1; echo -[Building Defensive Chamber]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_SC; alias Build_Dn B_MC"
alias B_MC "alias Build Build_MC; d1; echo -[Building Movement Chamber]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_DC; alias Build_Dn B_RT"
alias B_RT "alias Build Build_RT; d1; echo -[Building Resource Tower]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_MC; alias Build_Dn B_HV"
alias B_HV "alias Build Build_HV; d1; echo -[Building Hive!]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_RT; alias Build_Dn B_OC"
<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

Ok, part of it works. If I click my middle mouse button, I can build an OC. But when I hit my PGUP and PGDN buttons (which, FYI, are bound to the two scroll buttons on my Logitech MX500), all I get is a little *beep beep* sound. I don't even see a -[Building Whatever Chamber]- on my screen. WTH?! <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->

All I wanted was an easy way to drop lots of structures when I waddle around as a Gorge. <!--emo&::gorge::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/pudgy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='pudgy.gif'><!--endemo--> But somethin ain't workin right. Help? <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->



TYIA.

Comments

  • ZekZek Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 7962Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    Have you tried actually hitting Pg Up and Pg Down? Because if you're just talking about the mousewheel scrolling then that isn't the same thing as being bound to the Pg buttons, which I'm not sure is generally possible.
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    No I haven't tried them, but theres no reason why they shouldn't work. They work flawlessly as a marine, where they're bound to "Request order" and "Acknowledge order"


    Oh, and just to explain a little bit about the mouse itself. Its not the mousewheel i've bound to, its two physical <i>buttons</i>. Those buttons are linked to call Page Up and Page Down anywhere in my OS (so they're very handy for browsing web pages <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->) See the below and you'll understand.
    (PS: Yes, it is a VERY sexeh mouse. I lub it to deth. <img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/style_images/2/icon12.gif' border='0' alt='user posted image'> The two thumb buttons especially rock. I use em for voice coms and the map in NS. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->)
    (PPS: Except for the third button in the middle, the one at the very bottom. That is the most USELESS and HORRIBLY PLACED button <i>ever</i>. I don't know about the rest of you, but I haven't quite mastered the art of clicking a pinhead sized button with my f*cking lower middle finger knuckle - cuz thats exactly where its placed! <!--emo&:angry:--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/mad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='mad.gif'><!--endemo--> )

    Hope that clears things up <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    My god, what a mess <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    How come you're re-aliasing aliases instead of setting them in one place and having keys bind to them? It's much easier to follow that way.

    But anyway.
    <!--QuoteBegin--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I don't even see a -[Building Whatever Chamber]- on my screen<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Well, you wouldn't. That's <span style='font-family:Courier'>scr_connectmsg</span>, not <span style='font-family:Courier'>echo</span>. <span style='font-family:Courier'>echo</span> prints to the console, and only shows up if you've got <span style='font-family:Courier'>developer 1</span> on (which is a messy way of doing things because you get all kinds of debugging messages as well.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias B_OC "alias Build Build_OC; d1; echo -[Building Offensive Chamber]-; d0; alias Build_Up B_HV; alias Build_Dn B_SC"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    What do d1 and d0 do? I don't see them declared anywhere, and I don't remember them being pre-existing aliases... Do they stand for <span style='font-family:Courier'>developer 1</span> and <span style='font-family:Courier'>developer 0</span>? Messy <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Um.... I can't see anything wrong with the code... I can think of how to do what you're trying to do quite easily, but that doesn't help you understand what's wrong with what you've got already...

    What kind of error messages are you getting in the console?
  • RoscoeRoscoe Join Date: 2002-11-29 Member: 10221Members
    edited August 2003
    I didn't examine the script too closely but it looked alright. If you are able to build an OC with it then it would seem like it is getting "hung" at the d1 command. Look for an "unknown command: d1" or something like that in console and make sure you have the following in the cfg or autoexec:<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias d1 "developer 1"
    alias d0 "developer 0"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->It would be easier to use imo if the pgup and pgdn scrolled through bindings of the mouse3 button, ie hitting pgup or pgdn binds the mouse3 button to build the next structure and echoes what it has bound it to...that way you aren't forced to build as you scroll through. If you want something like this and can't get it to work right post back and I will try to write it.

    [edit]Igot bored and wrote it...good game being stuck on aol....<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias d0 "developer 0"
    alias d1 "developer 1"

    alias e3 "echo; echo; echo"

    bind pgdn builddn
    bind pgup buildup

    alias Build_OC "impulse 91"
    alias Build_SC "impulse 93"
    alias Build_DC "impulse 92"
    alias Build_MC "impulse 94"
    alias Build_RT "impulse 90"
    alias Build_HV "impulse 95"

    alias ocbind "bind mouse3 build_oc; d1; e3; echo -[Offense Chamber]-; d0; alias builddn scbind; alias buildup hvbind"
    alias scbind "bind mouse3 build_sc; d1; e3; echo -[Sensory Chamber]-; d0; alias builddn dcbind; alias buildup ocbind"
    alias dcbind "bind mouse3 build_dc; d1; e3; echo -[Defense Chamber]-; d0; alias builddn mcbind; alias buildup scbind"
    alias mcbind "bind mouse3 build_mc; d1; e3; echo -[Movement Chamber]-; d0; alias builddn rtbind; alias buildup dcbind"
    alias rtbind "bind mouse3 build_rt; d1; e3; echo -[Resource Tower]-; d0; alias builddn hvbind; alias buildup mcbind"
    alias hvbind "bind mouse3 build_hv; d1; e3; echo -[Hive!]-; d0; alias builddn ocbind; alias buildup rtbind"
    ocbind //sets default binding to OC<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    Tested it in a langame and everything seemed to work OK. It's not quite the same script as you originally wanted but you seem to have enough of a grasp on HL scripting to customize as you see fit. Good luck...[/edit]
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    Sorry, yes d1 and d0 stand for developer. They're declared elsewhere in my Autoexec, so I forgot to include them. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->


    And Skorp, the reason I was realiasing them was because I had hacked up another script to use for this one. I thought it would work, since the theory behind both of them was simaler.... but I broke it with my nubness. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Oh, and for the record I wasn't getting any errors in the console - partly why I was so confused <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->



    Anyways, thank you very much Roscoe, i'll give that a shot. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Part of the reason im so halfassed at this is because
    1) Im a HL nub
    2) I could script/bind circles around most people in UT/UT2K3
    So its an expertice in one engine clashing with a nubness of another <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
    It'l take me a while to get good at this stuff (especially considering HL script is more flexible than UT - though its FAR messier), and remembering stupid things like using a semicolon to seperate commands instead of a pipe <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo--> but I'll get there some day. <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->


    Again, thanks guys! <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    Whew! Got it working. I had to modify it a little because I use different configs depending on what team im on (ie: Marines.cfg, Aliens.cfg, Commander.cfg), and some other minor things (like it always echoing "Offensive Chamber" when I loaded Aliens.cfg), but that was all easy. The bad part was, IT STILL DIDN'T WORK! ARGH! <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
    But at least now I was getting a bind error in the console. So I commented out everything in my Aliens.cfg and managed to narrow it down to a problem with bind "PGUP" "BuildUp". I had no clue what was wrong with it - it looked fine - but I rewrote the line anyways and voila! Everything worked perfectly! <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo--> Maybe I had used 2 commas instead of a quote mark, who knows? Either way its working perfectly now! Well, not QUITE perfectly. I did discover one rather amusing feature... I can trap myself in resource towers if I jump and build them at the same time. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo--> Haha, but I can live with that one.


    Either way - a big thanks to Roscoe, Scorp, and Zek for helping me through my very first NS binding f-up. <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • HEAD-d_bHEAD-d_b Join Date: 2003-08-15 Member: 19742Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--SoulSkorpion+Aug 17 2003, 08:15 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (SoulSkorpion @ Aug 17 2003, 08:15 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> How come you're re-aliasing aliases instead of setting them in one place and having keys bind to them? It's much easier to follow that way.
    <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    may be easier to follow but is bad practice to be putting binds in anything other that the config.cfg, as you can get in a real mess with things being binded with out your knowege + if u add binds in to the script it is fixed to set keys - may not be what other people want.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias dv1 "developer 1"
    alias dv0 "developer 0"
    contimes 10  // console lines

    alias MWHEEL.UP "menuup"
    alias MWHEEL.DOWN "menudown"
    alias mouse.3 "build"

    //common
    alias 999 "con_notifytime 99" //time building menu stops up


    //impulse list
    alias build_res "impulse 90"
    alias build_off "impulse 91"
    alias build_def "impulse 92"
    alias build_sens "impulse 93"
    alias build_mov "impulse 94"
    alias build_hive "impulse 95"


    //build menu blanks
    alias tog6 "dv1; echo 6.  Resource Tower...; dv0"
    alias tog5 "dv1; echo 5.  Offence Tower.....; dv0"
    alias tog4 "dv1; echo 4.  Defence Tower.....; dv0"
    alias tog3 "dv1; echo 3.  Sensory Tower.....; dv0"
    alias tog2 "dv1; echo 2.  Movement Tower...; dv0"
    alias tog1 "dv1; echo 1.  Hive.......................; dv0"
    alias tog7 "dv1; echo ..........................................; dv0"

    //build menu pointers
    alias tog6p "alias build build_res; dv1; echo 6. Resource Tower...<------; dv0"
    alias tog5p "alias build build_off; dv1; echo 5. Offence Tower.....<------; dv0"
    alias tog4p "alias build build_def; dv1; echo 4. Defence Tower.....<------; dv0"
    alias tog3p "alias build build_sens; dv1; echo 3. Sensory Tower.....<------; dv0"
    alias tog2p "alias build build_mov; dv1; echo 2. Movement Tower...<------; dv0"
    alias tog1p "alias build build_hive; dv1; echo 1. Hive.......................<------; dv0"
    alias tog7p "alias build;dv1; echo ..........................................; dv0
    alias build ""

    //build menu structure
    alias menu1 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7p; set_menu1"
    alias menu2 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6p; tog7; set_menu2"
    alias menu3 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5p; tog6; tog7; set_menu3"
    alias menu4 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7p; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu4"
    alias menu5 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4p; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu5"
    alias menu6 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2; tog3p; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu6"
    alias menu7 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7;  tog2p; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu7"
    alias menu8 "10blank; tog7; tog1; tog7p;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu8"
    alias menu9 "10blank; tog7; tog1p; tog7;  tog2; tog3; tog4; tog7; tog5; tog6; tog7; set_menu9"

    //build bind set
    alias set_menu1 "alias menuup menu9; alias menudown menu2"
    alias set_menu2 "alias menuup menu1; alias menudown menu3"
    alias set_menu3 "alias menuup menu2; alias menudown menu4"
    alias set_menu4 "alias menuup menu3; alias menudown menu5"
    alias set_menu5 "alias menuup menu4; alias menudown menu6"
    alias set_menu6 "alias menuup menu5; alias menudown menu7"
    alias set_menu7 "alias menuup menu6; alias menudown menu8"
    alias set_menu8 "alias menuup menu7; alias menudown menu9"
    alias set_menu9 "alias menuup menu8; alias menudown menu1"

    //blank echos
    alias blank "dv1; echo;dv0"
    alias 10blank "2blank; 2blank; 2blank; 2blank; 2blank"
    alias 2blank "blank; blank"
    alias 4blank "2blank; 2blank"

    //build holder
    alias menuup "menu8"
    alias menudown "menu1"

    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    bind ? "MWHEEL.UP" //menuup
    bind ? "MWHEEL.DOWN" //menudown
    bind ? "mouse.3" //build


    try that for size gorge build script that only uses the mouse wheel
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--HEAD-d^_^b+Aug 18 2003, 06:16 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (HEAD-d^_^b @ Aug 18 2003, 06:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin--SoulSkorpion+Aug 17 2003, 08:15 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (SoulSkorpion @ Aug 17 2003, 08:15 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> How come you're re-aliasing aliases instead of setting them in one place and having keys bind to them? It's much easier to follow that way.
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    may be easier to follow but is bad practice to be putting binds in anything other that the config.cfg, as you can get in a real mess with things being binded with out your knowege + if u add binds in to the script it is fixed to set keys - may not be what other people want. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    That's true enough.
  • MrMojoMrMojo Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9882Members, Constellation
    Can't you bind these keys in the config menu? Am I missing something or did you just want a way to build chambers?
Sign In or Register to comment.