Limits

MasterGMasterG gmfbst Join Date: 2003-08-24 Member: 20169Members, Squad Five Blue
<div class="IPBDescription">This may be a stupid question...</div> I want to know if there are any limits to how many "direct lights"(as it says in rad at compile) you can have at your map..
Anyone knows anything about this?

Comments

  • KingNicKingNic Join Date: 2002-10-25 Member: 1600Members
    You mean you've got "Too many light styles on a single face"?

    It means you have too many dynamic (read flickering/pulsing) light's near a face.
  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Kabelen+Sep 8 2003, 12:49 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Kabelen @ Sep 8 2003, 12:49 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I want to know if there are any limits to how many "direct lights"(as it says in rad at compile) you can have at your map..
    Anyone knows anything about this? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    There's a cap of 2048 total entities including lights per map in the current tools. 1024 of those slots are reserved for unnamed light entities; the other 1024 are for all other entities combined.
  • NerdIIINerdIII Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15230Members
    Wow! Even more knowledge! thx Cagey. I always wondered what these 1024 'active' entities can be that someone talked about <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • WolfWingsWolfWings NS_Nancy Resurrectionist Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4416Members
    So another reason to try to use nothing but texture-based lighting then, instead of static 'light' entities?
  • NerdIIINerdIII Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15230Members
    Noo, he said you can use 1024 lights in addition to your texture lights without affecting NS's entity count. They just have to be unnamed.
  • reapermanreaperman Join Date: 2003-08-15 Member: 19733Members
    edited September 2003
  • reapermanreaperman Join Date: 2003-08-15 Member: 19733Members
    edited September 2003
    Edit: Double post.
  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--NerdIII+Sep 8 2003, 03:31 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (NerdIII @ Sep 8 2003, 03:31 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Noo, he said you can use 1024 lights in addition to your texture lights without affecting NS's entity count. They just have to be unnamed.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    In the original post, I was thinking more from the tool perspective, but it's true that unnamed <b>light</b>s and <b>light_spot</b>s don't contribute to runtime entities, either (just confirmed that in the SDK):

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->void CLight :: Spawn( void )
    {
    if (FStringNull(pev->targetname))
    {       // inert light
     REMOVE_ENTITY(ENT(pev));
     return;
    }
    <snip>
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    <b>info_null</b> is another entity that is removed on spawn (but it does count in the tools' internal 1024 non-light entity limit)... I'll email Flayra about getting those three types (two of them conditional) added to the official "do not count towards entity limit" list in the guidelines.
  • MooseMoose Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16248Members
    I think Cagey was talking about the TOOLS limit, not the NS limit.

    as far as i know you may only have 400 entities per map (minus NS specific entities, like info_location)
  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Moose+Sep 8 2003, 04:37 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Moose @ Sep 8 2003, 04:37 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I think Cagey was talking about the TOOLS limit, not the NS limit.

    as far as i know you may only have 400 entities per map (minus NS specific entities, like info_location) <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    This is correct at the moment, although I'm double-checking with Flayra for the official word on generic remove-on-spawn entities.
  • MooseMoose Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16248Members
    edited September 2003
    WoW that would be awesome <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> please let us know if Flayra gives the ok!
  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Moose+Sep 8 2003, 04:43 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Moose @ Sep 8 2003, 04:43 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> .... so we can have 1024 unnamed lights on top of the 400 entity limit Cagey ? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    <i>If</i> I get the go-ahead from Flay (waiting for email response now), you could potentially have 1648 unnamed lights (2048 compiler limit - the 400 entities) <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • MooseMoose Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16248Members
  • MasterGMasterG gmfbst Join Date: 2003-08-24 Member: 20169Members, Squad Five Blue
    Thank for all this info..
    But I didn't get an answer for my question, but that's my fault, 'cause I forgot to mention that I had got "Exceeded MAX_PATCHES".. But on my map I'm redoing all the lights, anyone got any tips about how to make I don't get the error when my lights are done again?
  • KageKage Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2016Members
    Scale up textures, make your map smaller, use -sparse on .rad, or (if you have many textures scaled down) use -notexscale on .rad.
  • MasterGMasterG gmfbst Join Date: 2003-08-24 Member: 20169Members, Squad Five Blue
    Thank you! I'll remember it for next compile as I'm compiling my map now, to see if it works!
Sign In or Register to comment.