How To Bind This....

davidchomesdavidchomes Join Date: 2004-01-06 Member: 25086Members
Hello,

I never was able to get hotkeys to work by binding.
So here is the question:

When being commander, if possible what would a bind or alias be to get health or ammo without manually going thru the diff menus and selecting ammo or health.

So that no matter whatever menu u are in it will get u to and select the ammo or health with one key stroke. Seems it could be done with the hotkeys but I cant get them to work.

Would be handy when ur team is yelling for ammo or health in the middle of a firefight and u are in a different menu.

Im running 2.0

thanks for any help

Comments

  • ZanteZante Join Date: 2003-12-30 Member: 24872Members
    I haven't binded anything, but the defaults for me are "E" for the menu "A" for ammo and "S" for medpacks.
    Also:

    "Q" = Build
    "W" = Advanced buildings
    "R" = Equipment


    And it works for the other menus too, eg: If you want to build a Res Tower, press "Q" then "A", and if you want the building next to the RT on the menu, press "S" etc. etc.

    Umm...I might have explained it in a little complicated way, because English isn't my main language, but I hope this helps.

    n_____n
  • davidchomesdavidchomes Join Date: 2004-01-06 Member: 25086Members
    Thx , but I'm Familiar with those. Looking to hit one key to get right to the wanted Item IE: healthpack

    Remember, 10ths of a second to hit 3 keys versus 1 can costs soldiers lives <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • AcrylicFUAcrylicFU Join Date: 2003-11-25 Member: 23520Members
    they removed hotkeys in this version
  • GrillkohleGrillkohle Join Date: 2003-12-23 Member: 24695Members, Constellation
    Errr...
    QWER
    ASDF
    YXCV (or ZXCV on an american keyboard)
    Those are hotkeys in commander mode, and they still work.
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Grillkohle+Jan 10 2004, 06:05 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Grillkohle @ Jan 10 2004, 06:05 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Errr...
    QWER
    ASDF
    YXCV (or ZXCV on an american keyboard)
    Those are hotkeys in commander mode, and they still work. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Whoo... give it up for German keyboards! qwertz for ever!
  • BogglesteinskyBogglesteinsky Join Date: 2002-12-24 Member: 11488Members
    Only the 12 menu keys work in 2.01. Bindable hot keys do not. Sorry, but you will have to wait for 3.0
  • NixNix Join Date: 2003-11-03 Member: 22257Members
    right this could work, then it might not but try this

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind "l" "R;*"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    in turn this should jump to the equipmenu then select the medical pack in one go.

    If this does work what you could do is in autoexec.cfg is type in
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias "medicalpack" "R;*"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    then in config.cfg have
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind "l" "medicalpack"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    ------------------------- Key -------------------------

    l = the key you want it bound to but not any of the pre-defined commander keys

    R = the key you have bound for the equipment menu

    * = what ever the key is for the medical pack on the equip menu

    ------------------------- Key -------------------------

    The key above applies to both examples.
  • Wintermute1Wintermute1 Join Date: 2003-08-22 Member: 20088Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Nix+Jan 12 2004, 11:19 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Nix @ Jan 12 2004, 11:19 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->right this could work, then it might not but try this

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind "l" "R;*"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Clever idea nix but it would not work.

    In a script you can only call aliases and impulses, not the keys they are bound to.


    davidchomes:
    It only takes two key presses to get to the med pack. Both of the keys are right under your fingers if you use was&d for movement like most people.

    by default:
    W takes you to the right menu
    S puts a medpack in your 'hand'

    You can change what the hotkeys are by editing this line in your config.cfg:
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->cl_cmhotkeys "qwerasdfzxcv"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    eg if you changed it to
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->cl_cmhotkeys "qkerasdfzxcv"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    Then k woud take you to the ammo/health menu.
  • BlueNovemberBlueNovember hax Join Date: 2003-02-28 Member: 14137Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin--Wintermute-+Jan 14 2004, 05:16 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Wintermute- @ Jan 14 2004, 05:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    by default:
    W takes you to the right menu
    S puts a medpack in your 'hand'
    <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    ?
    In commander mode E,S drops a medpack... <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->

    Well, last time I checked. W is upgrades menu isn't it?
Sign In or Register to comment.