Constnat Leak Error

Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
<div class="IPBDescription">For info_team_start</div> Ok.. I have an info_team_start entity in the middle of a fairly large room... and it keeps giving me a stupid leak error... I checked and can find NO signs of a hole anywhere, cept for the one where the door is (which is enclosed on the other side) and the roof (which is now enclosed)

Do the lines in HAMMER have to OVERLAP, or can they just touch?

Comments

  • The_CheatThe_Cheat It&#39;s a The Cheat&#33; Join Date: 2003-11-19 Member: 23191Members, Constellation
    No, overlapping is very, very bad. Touching on the grid is fine.

    Are you sure there are no entities outside of the room you have built? Is the room surrounded by non-entity world brushes or func_wall's to enclose it? If you have a func_door and nothing between it and the void (although you said you do) then it will cause a leak. I'm not sure what else to tell you.
  • MoconnorMoconnor Join Date: 2002-07-26 Member: 1004Members
    edited March 2004
    Did you run the map in hl/ns and type "pointfile" in the console?
    that usually finds leaks!!

    moconnor
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    Erm... wait... I didn't add any func_wall things.... ^-^' could that have done it? I have Brushes for walls... do I need to do func_wall as well? (I thought that automaticly happens in the setup 0o")

    And how do I run it if it gives me an error when I compile it (I compile it by running it it Hammer)
  • MoconnorMoconnor Join Date: 2002-07-26 Member: 1004Members
    The compiler will still make a .bsp, so go to the folder were the "yourmapname.bsp" is and copy it and yourmapname.pts file and move it to your ns/maps folder then run it and type pointfile in the console.
    then a line of points will appear hopefully goin through the leak!!

    moconnor
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    0o" Sounds complicated... I'll give it a go and report back! ^-^
  • esunaesuna Rock Bottom Join Date: 2003-04-03 Member: 15175Members, Constellation
    Compiling with a leak shouldn't be a problem. Your map will appear fullbright, and it will crash Half-Life after 30 seconds or so, but it is still possible.

    But as to func_walls, no, do NOT use them for your main architecture, they're entities and not only raise your entity count but your map will have leaks if you use them as walls touching the "void".

    In VHE, goto "map" and then "load pointfile". You should get a mass of random lines drawn over your 2D views, and your 3D view if you're using VHE 3.5, follow the lines and eventually you'll find the source of all your problems.
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    It uh... can't find them 0o" it says the .pts file doesn't exist... 0o"
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    edited March 2004
    Nvm, it wasn't solid... however, I fixed that one... now I tried it for another leak.. and it gives me a JUMBLE of lines 0o"


    I tried to make a secret room outside the map... I may have **** the entire map when I tried to resize it (stupid different grid sizes) I didn't realize the grid re-sets when you close the program... the map is prolly full of leaks... and it'll be easier for me to simply re-make it at this point 0o" Not looking foward to that... <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • The_CheatThe_Cheat It&#39;s a The Cheat&#33; Join Date: 2003-11-19 Member: 23191Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-esuna+Mar 12 2004, 03:07 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (esuna @ Mar 12 2004, 03:07 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> But as to func_walls........your map will have leaks if you use them as walls touching the "void". <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Odd. I have a few func_walls I'm using for some certain effects in my map. They are touching the void and no leaks occur.
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    edited March 2004
    So... what's the primitive brush block for? I use that to make walls... correct? And the func_wall to make the walls solid... right?

    And another question: Do the walls actually need to have any depth? After you make them, you can resize them to be paper thin... does that work or do they need to be at least a single block wide?
  • Jean_Luc_PicardJean_Luc_Picard Join Date: 2003-02-03 Member: 13051Members
    Grr... I found out what happened...


    I used the pre-fab bookcase... and didn't think to adjust it to fit in properly with the map... it was the basis of 3 things on my map... so I'll just re-create the map and make SURE I make it fit right <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /><!--endemo--> Least now I know what happened!
  • CageyCagey Ex-Unknown Worlds Programmer Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8829Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-The Cheat+Mar 12 2004, 01:19 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (The Cheat @ Mar 12 2004, 01:19 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-esuna+Mar 12 2004, 03:07 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (esuna @ Mar 12 2004, 03:07 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> But as to func_walls........your map will have leaks if you use them as walls touching the "void". <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Odd. I have a few func_walls I'm using for some certain effects in my map. They are touching the void and no leaks occur. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    It's actually the origin of the brush object that can't be in the void -- having a func_wall touching the void is OK, but you can't stick one entirely out there.

    If the compiler can't reach the origin of the brush model from the edge of the world without crossing a solid boundary, it throws a leak error; otherwise, it considers the map OK.
Sign In or Register to comment.