Mwheeldown Issue

archer1662archer1662 Join Date: 2004-03-30 Member: 27610Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Issue when scrolling weapons</div> Hi,

When I first got NS (v3.0 beta 3), the mwheelup and mwheeldown were working to scroll through the menu to get an item. I was trying to learn bunnyhopping the other day and I was told to bind jump to mwheeldown (at that time I didn't know that that didn't mean scrolling down, not just pushing down on mouse3). I restored it back to what it was, and now, mwheelup scrolls through the menu, while mwheeldown just goes to the weapon without any scrolling through the menu

What could this be?

Comments

  • ShenronShenron Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3524Members, Constellation
    hud_fastswitch to 1 probably

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind "MWHEELDOWN" "+jump"
    bind "MWHEELUP"  "slot3"
    bind "MOUSE1"  "+attack"
    bind "MOUSE2"  "slot1"
    bind "MOUSE3"  "+popupmenu"
    bind "MOUSE4"  "slot2"
    bind "MOUSE5"  "slot4"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    With logitech MX310 & hud_fastswitch 1
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    Yeah, we need to see what the actual bind you put on mwheeldown is before we can help you.
  • FuryFury Silver Fish Hand Catch Join Date: 2003-08-14 Member: 19673Members, Constellation
    in console type "bind mwheelup"
    then type "bind mwheeldown bleh"

    but replace bleh with the opposite of what mwheelup says

    ie

    if you type "bind mwheelup" and it comes up with "nextinv" then bind mwheeldown to "previnv"
  • Bob_the_AlienBob_the_Alien Join Date: 2002-01-30 Member: 135Members
    edited May 2004
    default is:
    bind mwheelup "invnext"
    bind mwheeldown "invprev"

    It sounds to me like you binded mwheeldown to "invlast" witch actually doesn't go through the menu at all. It goes strait to the last weapon you had selected.
  • BahamutBahamut Join Date: 2003-01-20 Member: 12522Members, Constellation
    tech support forum is your friend <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • AhnteisAhnteis teh Bob Join Date: 2002-10-02 Member: 1405Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    pushing down on the mouse wheel is "mouse3".
  • demonxdemonx Join Date: 2004-03-18 Member: 27414Members
    Actually, this is still a bug. If you go into your controls in the game and bind both mwheelup and mwheeldown, then your HUD won't show the images of your weapons when going up on the wheel (I think it's up). It's hard to explain... <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    edited May 2004
    An excerpt from kb_act.lst:
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->"blank"    "=========================="
    "blank"    " Weapons and items"
    "blank"    "=========================="
    "+attack"    "Attack (important)"
    "+use"     "Use/build"
    "+reload"    "Reload weapon"
    "impulse 100"   "Flashlight"
    "+showmap"    "Show map"
    "+showscores"   "Display multiplayer scores"
    "slot1"     "Weapon category 1"
    "slot2"     "Weapon category 2"
    "slot3"     "Weapon category 3"
    "slot4"     "Weapon category 4"
    "slot5"     "Weapon category 5"
    "invprev"    "Previous weapon"
    "impulse 1"    "Next weapon"
    "impulse 3"    "Drop weapon"
    "lastinv"    "Last used weapon"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    As you can see, binding a key to "next weapon" by means of the controls menu will bind it to "impulse 1", rather than "invnext".

    Also, an excerpt from kb_def.lst:<!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->"MWHEELUP"  "invprev"
    "["    "invprev"
    "MWHEELDOWN" "invnext"
    "]"    "invnext"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    Mwheeldown is, by default, bound to "invnext" rather than "impulse 1".

    (These files can be found in nsp/gfx/shell)


    Anyway, to solve your problem, type <b>bind mwheeldown invnext</b> in the console.
Sign In or Register to comment.