Door Opens After 5 Min

iG0riG0r Join Date: 2004-06-28 Member: 29593Members
hi,

for my first fun-siege map i need some help with my doorscript. does any know the right command for round-/gamestart?

my first try with game_playerspawn was a bad try, the script starts when a player spawn in readyroom too.

so can anyone help me?

thx <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->

Comments

  • GrizzlyGrizzly Join Date: 2003-10-27 Member: 22025Members
    wrong forum, suposed to be in the help section
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    edited June 2004
    if your trying to make a delay of 5 mins before a door opens, use trigger_random and add a key with the targetname of the door with the keyvalue as time (in seconds) if this is what your trying to do i can show you how to give updates on time (ex: 5 min show message then 3 mins then 60 seconds) ect.. look at ns_siege007

    the keyvalue for the counter to start when the game starts is something like gamestartedsequence and the end sequence name is gameendedsequence
  • GrizzlyGrizzly Join Date: 2003-10-27 Member: 22025Members
    use game_timer or just a wery long deley before fire on the trigger
  • iG0riG0r Join Date: 2004-06-28 Member: 29593Members
    edited June 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin-GiGaBiTe+Jun 28 2004, 02:53 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (GiGaBiTe @ Jun 28 2004, 02:53 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> trigger_random and add a key with the targetname of the door with the keyvalue as time (in seconds)
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    GiGaBiTe exactly i try to make a map like ns_siege007

    sorry it dident work for me <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    the door opens at the start without any seconds delay.

    trigger_random:
    name gamestartedsequence
    door1 300

    flags:
    start on
    remove on fire
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    i forgot you have to make another trigger_random trigger that one first. ill post a rmf showing the sequence i used. keep in mind its a bit complicated.
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    btw dont use the remove on fire spawn flag because if you want the door to work again next round there will be no trigger for the door... lol
  • iG0riG0r Join Date: 2004-06-28 Member: 29593Members
    thx for your help <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    heres the fixed one, take a look
  • iG0riG0r Join Date: 2004-06-28 Member: 29593Members
    wow works perfect!

    verry big thx for your help <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    glad to be of assistance
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    link is corrupt whenever i download it, tried on 2 comps now... plz fix.

    I wanted to know how to make something trigger at the end of a round.

    You can simply trigger something on start of a round by nameing a multimanager "gamestartedstatus" then timing everything in the multimanager....


    But apparently you cant do this with gamestartedsequence or gameendedsequence....

    I also tried using a multimanager to trigger events by setting the delay to gameendedsequence, but that didnt work either...
  • HighnoHighno Join Date: 2004-01-29 Member: 25706Members
    at first this post is from Jun 04 so the file is not available anymore.
    And the second is that you also have to create a trigger that tells the multimanager to start the script u packed into him.
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    if you want to use gamestartedsequence or gameendedsequence, you need to use a trigger_random.

    and please dont revive threads that are half a year old.
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    can you post the file again if you have it?

    i just tried a trigger_random and set the longest and shortest fire times to gameendedsequence adn still no luck...
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    trigger_random works like this.

    to make the trigger_random start and end with the rounds, these keyvalues need to be set.

    wait - gameendedsequence
    targetname - gamestartedsequence
    <name of target> - time (in seconds) from the start of the map to the time untill the specified entity is activated.
    minfiretime - <time from name of target>
    maxfiretime - <time from name of target>

    example:

    i want a door to open in 10 minutes from the start of the map. the "targetname" keyvalue of the door is "omgdoor"

    the trigger_random's setting should look like this:

    wait - gameendedsequence
    targetname - gamestartedsequence
    minfiretime - 600
    maxfiretime - 600
    omgdoor - 600

    now you actually have to create the keyvalue "omgdoor" its not there by default.
  • TheGuyTheGuy Join Date: 2003-08-09 Member: 19295Members, Constellation
    Both files work fine. Neither is corrupt. Use winrar.
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    TheGuy is right, unzipping them in winzip yields corrupt files while using winrar or winace works fine... strange, ive never had that occur to me before.


    Gigabyte, apparently the method you post works, and so does your testsiege file, however i am asking for someqhing quite different, which dosent work...

    I want to trigger an entity AT THE END of a round, when one team is declared a winner. Using your methods dosent work apparently (same thing for gameendedstatus).

    Please apply your methods to triggering an entity at the end of the round, if you can get this working, than i would be a happy lad =)
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    you have to give me some idea of what type of entity you want triggered at round end, each entity requires different methods of triggering.
  • TheGuyTheGuy Join Date: 2003-08-09 Member: 19295Members, Constellation
    I'm curious what program you used to zip it? I've never had that problem with a zip not opening in winzip before. Well unless it was a rar file named incorrectly.
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    the entity is a multimanager by the name "stopall"
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I'm curious what program you used to zip it? I've never had that problem with a zip not opening in winzip before. Well unless it was a rar file named incorrectly.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    dude, that was over 6 months ago. im supposed to remember something insignificant as that?
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    I was wondering if you were going to answer my question... you didnt mention anything about it in the last post...

    If you were taking your time then nevermind, i just wanted to know what was up is all...
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    i tried many combonations of using trigger_randoms and multimanagers to trigger different entities at round end, but none seemed to work. that doesnt mean that its impossible, i could be doing something wrong here.

    just keep experimenting and see what you can find out.

    heres a starter:

    change the targetname of the ent to "gameendedsequence" and wait to "gamestartedsequence" and see if that works.
  • blackjackelblackjackel Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2151Members, Constellation
    Ive tried so many combinations myself that ive called it quits.

    I thought you might have the answer.
Sign In or Register to comment.