What Does Blockscripts Block Again?

EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Trying to get back into the game</div> Hey everyone, its been AGES since I last posted here, but I just recently got the NS itch (again! sheesh!). Unfortunatly, finding a decent server is really really freaking difficult. I only play NS (I actually left the game because of CO... and I see it still reigns supreme... *sigh*), and for the time being I only play on non blockscripts servers. The reason isn't because I 3hop or pistol hack or whatever the hell the latest flamewar is about. I just have an extremely odd setup (i'm a mousewalker), and whipped up a few small scripts to make my life easier. Unfortunatly it isn't working so well, since damn near every server out there seems to have blockscripts enabled...

So! My question (which I searched for but couldn't find an answer amongst the sea of flamewars) is simply: What commands does mp_blockscripts specifically block? If I can get my hands on this info, I was going to try and maybe change my config to a no-scripting friendly form. I might miss a few things (like my toggles... <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->), but I kind of want to give it a shot before my patience wears out with NS again.


Thanks to whoever can point me in the right direction!


-Evo


(PS: No flamefest here please. Ok? Thanks.)
«13

Comments

  • keelemkeelem Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7482Members
    It blocks good players [/sarcasm]

    Pistol hack? Since when is a pistol script a hack? I thought hacks were third party programs, not a FEATURE of the game?

    It blocks multiple commands in binds, as well as any + and - commands in aliases. For example bind mouse4 "impulse xx; say_team I NEED A MEDPACK" wouldn't work, but
    alias medpack "impulse xx; say_team I NEED A MEDPACK"
    bind mouse4 medpack
    would work. I'm not sure if it blocks commands that include 'wait' as well.
  • obuhobuh Not Quite Smart at NS Join Date: 2003-03-31 Member: 15072Members, Constellation
    edited October 2004
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//need medpack
    bind key "impulse 10;say_team Medpack requested"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    If you bind several commands in a row directly to a key, like the one above, it will be blocked.


    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//need medpack
    alias needmed "impulse 10;say_team Medpack requested"

    bind key needmed<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    If you use an alias, it won't be blocked.

    And as far as I know, it blocks any alias that contains a +command (eg. +jump)

    Edit: and it makes the scrubs happy D:
  • AlkillerAlkiller Join Date: 2004-05-23 Member: 28847Members
    Just addressing your other problem, try using Xfire. You can filter out blockscripts servers through it.
  • ByekaByeka Name changed from Freak83 Toronto Join Date: 2003-03-13 Member: 14484Members, Constellation
    Here I'll voice what I hate about it again.

    I trained my fingers to move fast and do what scripters generally rely on scripts to do with skulk leaping.

    I can no longer do this with just my fingers because of blockscripts.

    No hacking, no scripting, done by me yet because of it I can't do this with just skill anymore.
  • AlkillerAlkiller Join Date: 2004-05-23 Member: 28847Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Freak83+Oct 2 2004, 04:18 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Freak83 @ Oct 2 2004, 04:18 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Here I'll voice what I hate about it again.

    I trained my fingers to move fast and do what scripters generally rely on scripts to do with skulk leaping.

    I can no longer do this with just my fingers because of blockscripts.

    No hacking, no scripting, done by me yet because of it I can't do this with just skill anymore. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Way to totally not answer his question.

    Can't you keep your social out burts to a minimum?
  • BobTheJanitorBobTheJanitor Join Date: 2003-12-10 Member: 24228Members, NS1 Playtester
    This thread is specifically about what blockscripts blocks. Opinions about scripting, inults against those that hold opposing viewpoints to your own, and all general flaming will lead to quick action. Play nice now. <!--emo&;)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wink-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    Hrm, ok. Thanks for the info guys.

    Just as a formality, IS there a way to make a toggle key that won't be blocked? For example, I like my showscores on a toggle (press to show/press to hide) rather than a hold, because its what i'm used to with UT. I guess I could live without it, but it'd be nice to have.


    Thanks again!
  • obuhobuh Not Quite Smart at NS Join Date: 2003-03-31 Member: 15072Members, Constellation
    As far as I know, you can't do it.
  • im_lostim_lost TWG Rule Guru Join Date: 2003-04-26 Member: 15861Members
    It also blocks any commands that include _special. This is currently only done when blockscripts is on, but it will be changed to be blocked regardless of the blockscripts setting in the next patch.
  • obuhobuh Not Quite Smart at NS Join Date: 2003-03-31 Member: 15072Members, Constellation
    edited October 2004
    <!--QuoteBegin-i'm lost+Oct 2 2004, 06:08 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (i'm lost @ Oct 2 2004, 06:08 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> It also blocks any commands that include _special.  This is currently only done when blockscripts is on, but it will be changed to be blocked regardless of the blockscripts setting in the next patch. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Actually, mp_blockscripts doesn't block _special commands.

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->//spam request orders

    alias specialreq "quit"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    This, for example, works on a bs enabled server.
  • MintmanMintman Join Date: 2003-05-30 Member: 16866Members
    Maybe if you posted you current scripts I, or someone else, could find a way to rescript them for blockscripts servers.
  • comradecomrade Join Date: 2003-11-30 Member: 23774Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Mintman+Oct 2 2004, 06:52 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Mintman @ Oct 2 2004, 06:52 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Maybe if you posted you current scripts I, or someone else, could find a way to rescript them for blockscripts servers. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Just put them into alias. If it has a +command in it you're screwed.
  • Cereal_KillRCereal_KillR Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1837Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Alkiller+Oct 2 2004, 10:37 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Alkiller @ Oct 2 2004, 10:37 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-Freak83+Oct 2 2004, 04:18 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Freak83 @ Oct 2 2004, 04:18 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Here I'll voice what I hate about it again.

    I trained my fingers to move fast and do what scripters generally rely on scripts to do with skulk leaping.

    I can no longer do this with just my fingers because of blockscripts. 

    No hacking, no scripting, done by me yet because of it I can't do this with just skill anymore. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Way to totally not answer his question.

    Can't you keep your social out burts to a minimum? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Well I do agree that weapon switching seems a bit less responsive than before (blockscripts or not)
  • MinioNMinioN Join Date: 2004-09-07 Member: 31473Members
    is it "exec" blocked too?
  • EvoEvo Join Date: 2003-01-11 Member: 12180Members
    Yeah it is. Which means no commanding for me <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • ForlornForlorn Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2634Banned
    No, exec is not blocked if you do it manually (type "exec noscripts.cfg" into console, for example.

    That's what I use anyhow..
  • MinioNMinioN Join Date: 2004-09-07 Member: 31473Members
    Well, yeah i know you can type it in console.
    In my old "configs" was "bind f5 exec comm.cfg" and "bind f6 exec normal.cfg"
    those not work anymore and its not funny <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    edited October 2004
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias marineteam "exec marine.cfg; jointeamone"
    bind "F1" "marineteam"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    Works fine for me on blockscripts servers. So did this:
    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->bind F1 "exec marine.cfg"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    As far as I can tell, exec works on blockscripts servers as long as the config you execute has only bind, alias, and/or exec commands.

    Edit: Seems to work with variables as well (sensitivity at least), so I'm not sure why others have so much trouble with it.
  • God_KillerGod_Killer Join Date: 2004-02-16 Member: 26592Members
    I just wanted to say how I like the only, special script blocked servers like C.A.P...
  • sawcesawce Join Date: 2002-12-14 Member: 10787Members
    edited October 2004
    In my config setup (binds.cfg is default; noblock.cfg is when blockscripts is 0) I have a key I press that will execute noblock.cfg only if blockscripts is 0, press it again and it goes back to standard binds (incase blockscripts turns on midgame or whatever)...

    In binds.cfg (default bind):

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias donothing
    bind "KP_INS" "donothing;exec noblock.cfg"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    then in noblock.cfg it rebinds KP_INS:

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias reload_block "exec binds.cfg"
    bind KP_INS "reload_block"
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    So long as just aliases and binds are in binds.cfg it will be executed just fine if blockscripts is 1.
  • ChurchChurch Meatshield grunt-fodder // Has pre-ordered NS2 Join Date: 2002-12-31 Member: 11646Members, Constellation
    In my experiences, here's what has been blocked for me:

    Aliases with more than one command AND contains a +jump or +attack

    and

    exec commands bound to a button (like f5, for example).

    I haven't tried just typing it out though.
  • taboofirestaboofires Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9853Members
    Exec works just fine if you alias it into a script.

    If you type it into the console, it's not a script at all. So yeah, of course that works.

    Anything with a +command can't be aliased, except via _special. So, _special script block plugin ftw!
  • obuhobuh Not Quite Smart at NS Join Date: 2003-03-31 Member: 15072Members, Constellation
    Typing +commands in console is blocked.
  • BloodBallBloodBall Join Date: 2003-07-11 Member: 18098Members
    alias marineteam "exec marine.cfg; jointeamone"
    bind "F1" "marineteam"

    works for me, i use that same bind and i play on blockscript servers all the time
  • MinioNMinioN Join Date: 2004-09-07 Member: 31473Members
    Well, its work fine for me now... cause now i use alias <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • DuoGodOfDeathDuoGodOfDeath Join Date: 2002-08-01 Member: 1044Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Unfortunatly, finding a decent server is really really freaking difficult. <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I agree with that. I finally pubbed last night for about an hour and a half on a server that doesnt run block scripts. Its been about 3 months since I've actually played this long on a server. To me blockscripts is in some form or another dividing the community. Its also causing me to play NS a whole lot less than what I actually used to play. Its very saddening that all these, how should I put it, uneducated people think scripts are the devil incarnated or a devil's spawn. They think its no skillful to use scripts such as say 3hop or pistol. 3hop is just the same as using your Mwheel. Pistol scripts I never found a use for them but I can still shoot just as fast. Its just a preference to how you wish to play your game. To me these blockscript servers are just saying "FU your playing our way" in one way or another.

    I can only hope to God (That is if one exists) that this blockscript stuff will just go away and people can finally *lights on* realise scripts aren't evil. If it comes to B6 and scripts with Alias are blocked then I guess NS wont be worth playing any more. (I've heard Alias would some how be blocked , don't shoot me if this is false <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    Being down to only playing on 3 servers really just wont be worth my time with this game if this keeps up :/

    Theres always HL2 I guess v.v <!--emo&::marine::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/marine.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='marine.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • MrGunnerMrGunner Join Date: 2003-01-03 Member: 11757Members, Constellation
    I can rack up kills as easily on a blockscripts server as on a normal one, with the sole exception of not being able to use aliases to ask for meds or ammo, and 3jump for lerking.

    The funny thing is people call me a scripter more on blockscript servers then on normal ones. If blockscripts is on why would it matter? It's not like I'm dumb enough to use a leap-bite or blink-swipe script, so why when I kill someone do I always have to put up with "nice scripts hacker".

    Blockscripts just seems to breed more ignorance then there was before it came about.

    PS: Duo hax.
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    edited October 2004
    It's odd that a key bound to something like "exec something.cfg" works fine for me on blockscripts servers, but doesn't seem to work for anyone else.
  • MinioNMinioN Join Date: 2004-09-07 Member: 31473Members
    U have haxconfigs!!!!111oneoneoneeleven <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • crisanocrisano Join Date: 2004-09-01 Member: 31152Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-MrGunner+Oct 25 2004, 06:09 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (MrGunner @ Oct 25 2004, 06:09 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Blockscripts just seems to breed more ignorance then there was before it came about.
    <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I definately agree with that. I'm sure the devs had the best intentions of everyone when they went to fix mp_blockscripts that was broken, but I doubt they saw or was able to predict such a bad outcome of such a fix. After the fix, not just ignorance was increased, but misinformation as well. People really started viewing scripts as being as evil as hacks and a lot still do, putting the two things as equivalent. I'm sure a lot of people don't script and don't want to, more power to them, its their choice, but its definately not their right to spread bad information about what scripts really are in an attempt to get everyone to stop scripting all together. With blockscripts, now those who were misinformed are thinking, "Well we must be right since the devs have added/fixed something to stop those damn cheaters!"
Sign In or Register to comment.