Surefire Ways To Tune Your NS Server

MonsieurEvilMonsieurEvil Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 4Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
<div class="IPBDescription">Experienced Ops - add your tricks here</div> <b>Note:</b> This thread is extremely old, and was started when NS 1.0 came out, so keep that in mind.
-----------


Here are some additional sure-fire ways to reduce CPU usage (especially over time), and to help keep 'lag' lower:

The network usage is actually quite a bit less than CS due to better optimization, so your connection speeds are not the issue. It's still CPU processing the resource model, 100x extra entities, and other aspects that a CS server doesn't have to track. There are some things you can do though:

1. Do not run HLTV proxy or allow HLTV connections

2. Knock your player count down by 2 slots (maybe do this after step 3, waiting on results).

3. Shorten your mp_timelimit to be 15 minutes. This will ensure that there are not too many round resets before there is a map cycle. There are some bugs which cause certain entitites to linger after a round resets which only a map change will clear. This is part of the reason a 2 hour game will cause more and more bogging on the CPU.

4. With Win32 servers, tune your OS with this guide to minimize OS overhead: <a href='http://www.readyroom.org/perfgde_1.html' target='_blank'>Rreadyroom.org WinXP/2000 Tuning Guide </a>

We're working with Valve to get some clues on some of the processing bottlenecks (some of which are HL engine issues at their core - it was never designed to do this!), so we should have yet another server patch in some time.
«134

Comments

  • TweedleTweedle Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7581Members
    edited November 2002
    <span style='font-size:21pt;line-height:100%'>Last Editted: Fri Nov 8 @ 11PM EST</span>

    Just doing this instead of replying 30 times as I update my post. (Mainly for my good maps/bad maps list.)

    Default minrate and maxrate are both set to zero. I've got <b>plenty</b> of bandwidth, though I noticed that when I set sv_maxrate to 8500, the pings all dropped about 20 across the board. This probably varies from server to server, but it is definately something to check out. Perhaps less dataflow gives the server less to work on? I also noticed that if you drop it too low, the pings will skyrocket, as expected. You just have to find that sweet spot for your maxplayers and computer setup.

    I've heard a lot of things about certain maps being tremendously buggy and tearing through CPU power, drastically raising pings. Anyone have a list of such maps? What have you noticed?

    Edit:
    I'll keep a list of both low ping and high ping maps as I figure out which they are:

    (My server holds 12 until I can figure out the laggy maps, take them off the rotation, and up the count)

    <b>GOOD</b> (Lower CPU Usage Maps)
    ns_eclipse (personally unverified)
    ns_tanith (14 plyr, 90% CPU usage, pings avg 130, a few sub-100)
    ns_nancy (full server, all players sub-100, CPU @ 58%)
    ns_nothing (full, one ping steady at 55 <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo--> so no overall lag, CPU @ 85%)


    <b>BAD</b> (Higher CPU Usage Maps)
    ns_hera (12 players, 95% usage, pings ~150) Pings are now creeping upwards, ~175 <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> This map bites
    ns_bast (12 players, 95% usage, pings ~190)

    -------------------------------------

    Okay, here are some settings that I just tweaked a bit. They lowered the pings about 30-40ms. <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wow.gif'><!--endemo--> From 215ish av to 170.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->mp_networkmeterrate 7500
    sv_maxupdaterate 100
    sv_minrate 0
    sv_maxrate 10000
    mp_lowlag 1<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    mp_lowlag is a CS setting, I thought. I set it to 1, the pings go down a bit. I set it to 0, the pings go up a bit. I tried back and forth few times and got the same results. Post your results here, I'd be interested in this being a fluke or not.

    Network meter rate is set to 7500 from 100000. Pings seem more stable than previously. Again, this is the <b>only</b> thing on a 10mbps line. Bandwidth isn't making the difference, it is the CPU usage. Edit yet again: the mp_networkmeterrate makes a huge difference. All the pings are sub 200. Previously about half the pings were averaging 200. No one in the server is complaining of lag. The map is ns_hera, (see above), a high cpu usage map <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • MafukieMafukie Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2769Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Tweedle+Nov 7 2002, 02:09 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Tweedle @ Nov 7 2002, 02:09 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Default minrate and maxrate are both set to zero. I've got <b>plenty</b> of bandwidth, though I noticed that when I set sv_maxrate to 8500, the pings all dropped about 20 across the board. This probably varies from server to server, but it is definately something to check out. Perhaps less dataflow gives the server less to work on? I also noticed that if you drop it too low, the pings will skyrocket, as expected. You just have to find that sweet spot for your maxplayers and computer setup.

    I've heard a lot of things about certain maps being tremendously buggy and tearing through CPU power, drastically raising pings. Anyone have a list of such maps? What have you noticed?

    Edit:
    I'll keep a list of both low ping and high ping maps as I figure out which they are:

    (My server holds 12 until I can figure out the laggy maps, take them off the rotation, and up the count)

    <b>GOOD</b> (Lower CPU Usage Maps)
    ns_eclipse
    ns_tanith
    ns_nancy (full server, all players sub-100, CPU @ 58%)
    ns_nothing (full, one ping steady at 55 <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo--> so no overall lag, CPU @ 85%)


    <b>BAD</b> (Higher CPU Usage Maps)
    ns_hera (12 players, 95% usage, pings ~150) Pings are now creeping upwards, ~175 <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--> This map bites


    -------------------------------------

    Okay, here are some settings that I just tweaked a bit. They lowered the pings about 30-40ms. <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wow.gif'><!--endemo--> From 215ish av to 170.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->mp_networkmeterrate 7500
    sv_maxupdaterate 100
    sv_minrate 0
    sv_maxrate 10000
    mp_lowlag 1<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    mp_lowlag is a CS setting, I thought. I set it to 1, the pings go down a bit. I set it to 0, the pings go up a bit. I tried back and forth few times and got the same results. Post your results here, I'd be interested in this being a fluke or not.

    Network meter rate is set to 7500 from 100000. Pings seem more stable than previously. Again, this is the <b>only</b> thing on a 10mbps line. Bandwidth isn't making the difference, it is the CPU usage. Edit yet again: the mp_networkmeterrate makes a huge difference. All the pings are sub 200. Previously about half the pings were averaging 200. No one in the server is complaining of lag. The map is ns_hera, (see above), a high cpu usage map <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    thanks for the tips, using them in my server to see if it does help out. <!--emo&::sentry::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/turret.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='turret.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • EvilGrinEvilGrin Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6851Members
    You can trade higher CPU usage for lower pings by using pingbooster.

    The built in HLDS pingbooster is activated by the -pingbooster <X> command line parameter. (X is between 1 and 3, experiment for which works best).

    Or you can use 3rd party soloutions.

    <a href='http://www.udpsoft.com/booster/' target='_blank'>UDP Softwares Pingbooster for Linux</a> or <a href='http://hullu.xtragaming.com/metamod/plugins.html#booster' target='_blank'>hullus Win-HL Booster for win32</a> (requires <a href='http://www.metamod.org' target='_blank'>MetaMod</a>)

    Try as many of these options as you like, see which works best for you.
  • The_HowlerThe_Howler Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2497Members
    edited November 2002
    I run a 14 player server on an Athlon XP 2000+, 512 mb DDR, Windows 2000 machine. At least for me, the maps make all of the difference. I just observed the difference between ns_eclipse and ns_hera. As previously noted, Eclipse is good (about 5 - 20% total CPU usage) and Hera is horrendous (about 55 - 80% total CPU usage). That's quite a difference in CPU usage by merely having different maps loaded. Oh and as for memory, Eclipse used about 200 mb of memory, while Hera uses about 300 mb.

    Edit:

    Just played ns_nancy, CPU usage never got above 25% for the whole round.
  • TweedleTweedle Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7581Members
    Very odd. Current CPU usage is 95% (5% being for system-critical stuff and other overhead I guess.) Map is ns_bast. Average ping is probably about 200. Everyone said the server was great and that there was no noticable lag. <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='wow.gif'><!--endemo--> Uhh, okay. Out of twelve people I didn't even get a single obligatory "this server sucks" response. So, I guess ns_bast is a CPU eater, but is playable with higher pings? I know this to not be the case with other maps.

    Very odd.
  • SintriSintri Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 7131Members
    anyone know if there's a way to lower lag from cable?
  • TweedleTweedle Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7581Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Sintri+Nov 7 2002, 10:34 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Sintri @ Nov 7 2002, 10:34 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->anyone know if there's a way to lower lag from cable?<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Hosting a server from a cable modem?
  • SintriSintri Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 7131Members
    misfire says he got his on a digital cable up in NJ, runs on 50-130 ping for me. Trying to set one up cept it spikes a bit often and lags a bit too.
  • GoleXGoleX Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7681Members
    Greetings all,

    Got my first server running decent with 14 people. I also use no max rate also as bandwith is not a problem. My server ranges between 50-150 ping on a full server, except on the evil maps listed above (bast and hera) where they slowly crept to about 400 right before the mapchange. The changes listed by Tweedle did help me wipe off about 50 ping average, so they do work. Next I am going to try the pingbooster thing as my Linux load is staying reasonably low.

    My little hint for linux users: I found renice'ing the hlds process to about -10 cut alot of the ping off too with the cost of higher CPU load... so use this only if CPU load is not a problem. This would be the same as raising the HLDS thread priority to High in Windows machines.

    Good luck, and keep the hints coming!

    |TE|GoleX
    Twilight Eclipse NS v1.01
  • tommydtommyd Creator of ns_tanith, co_pulse and co_faceoff Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 40Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, NS2 Developer
    i'd like to note that bast/hera have many particle systems - several more than the other maps. nancy has almost no particle systems, while tanith, caged, and eclipse only have about 5-10.

    i wonder if the particle systems are the source of the cpu usage problem.
  • NecroNecro &lt;insert non-birthday-related title here&gt; Join Date: 2002-08-09 Member: 1118Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--tommyd+Nov 9 2002, 01:36 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (tommyd @ Nov 9 2002, 01:36 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->i'd like to note that bast/hera have many particle systems - several more than the other maps. nancy has almost no particle systems, while tanith, caged, and eclipse only have about 5-10.

    i wonder if the particle systems are the source of the cpu usage problem.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    sounds like it <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • FlayraFlayra Game Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment San Francisco Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 3Super Administrators, NS2 Developer, Subnautica Developer
    Particle systems are part of the problem, but that was the performance improvement gained in the 1.01 patch. What do I believe to be the real problem? The total number of entities. It doesn't seem to matter what entities you have, but the total number is the bottleneck. I counted the entities in all the NS maps, and the more entities, the worse the performance. Eclipse has around 400 entities, bast has around 600 entities, hera around 700. Of course, as you play, teams are creating more entities (structures, webs, dropped weapons, etc), but the amount of entities created during the game is less significant then the amount of entities in the map.

    I've tried many different approaches to work around this (some of you may have joined one of my test servers where various entities blinked in and out of existence), but I haven't been able to get anything to work yet. I'm still working on it.
  • alyandonalyandon Join Date: 2002-10-17 Member: 1523Members, Constellation
    No worries Flayra. My p3-450 server with 256 megs of ram deals out around 300-400 ms latency at full load (14 players)... Usually, I can't even notice the difference when the latency is at 100 ms when fewer players are on -- you've done an excellent job at tweaking the network code.

    Now if I could just convince ATTBI to consistently provide me the full 384kbit/s upstream I pay for so my connection doesn't surge to 3000 ms latency when I'm only pushing 15-20K/s upstream from my server. <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • Eternal_BlissEternal_Bliss Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7633Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    edited November 2002
    dunno if it helps you guys but we(me and the other admin) updated our debian kernel and now it holds 10 ppl without lags at all <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
    load avg was like 2.0 before and now it's stable near 1.0
    current kernel used: 2.4.18rc4aa1
    oh and
    Load Averages 1.01 1.04 1.00 (server is full)
  • EvilGrinEvilGrin Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6851Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Flayra+Nov 9 2002, 02:51 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Flayra @ Nov 9 2002, 02:51 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->What do I believe to be the real problem? The total number of entities. It doesn't seem to matter what entities you have, but the total number is the bottleneck.

    I've tried many different approaches to work around this (some of you may have joined one of my test servers where various entities blinked in and out of existence), but I haven't been able to get anything to work yet. I'm still working on it.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Is this something you can eventually work around? Or is it an engine limitation that Valve will have to address?
  • philmcnealphilmcneal Join Date: 2002-10-24 Member: 1585Members
    i run a 12 player cable server and my server is fine

    i don' even hear the word " LAG"! <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo--> even on ns_hera ( great map btw )
  • GanonnGanonn Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 5691Members
    I don't mind even a 400 ping so long as my response times are the same as everyone else.

    Many 16 player servers I've found are hit bad by this, I think they are just trying to overwork their CPU without thinking about what the effect will be on the game and they ignore the fact that it DOES make a difference if their server will handle less players better.

    The good servers are already starting to become obvious by the simple fact that they're full all the time.

    PS: Keep up the good work admins, you make the entire experience enjoyable with your constant work at improving what is already going. <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • NecroNecro &lt;insert non-birthday-related title here&gt; Join Date: 2002-08-09 Member: 1118Members
    yea entities...or particles (which are entities im sure), because that would explain the lag inrcease from eclipse/nothing to hera/bast which use a lot more particles (and entities in general i assume) than nothing or eclipse.

    the lower the cpu the better because otherwise major companies won't sell servers within an affordable price and/or put up a few servers.
  • SuicideDogSuicideDog Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8104Members
    edited November 2002
    I've done all the server tweaks I could find on this board and any other board I could find for the fact.. and I'm still getting horrible performance on some maps. I'm running Debian with the latest kernel.. the latest beta for the hdls server.. the patched NS server on a p4 1.7 Ghz w/384Mb and a 100mb network connection. For some reason though when I play maps like "nothing" with 12 ppl on I get like 70-98%+ cpu utilization.. I love this mod but I also need to run some other dedicated servers for other mods on this box.. and I can't do that until I get my performance up on the box.. any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
  • cracker_jackmaccracker_jackmac Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6891Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--SuicideDog+Nov 10 2002, 08:18 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (SuicideDog @ Nov 10 2002, 08:18 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I've done all the server tweaks I could find on this board and any other board I could find for the fact.. and I'm still getting horrible performance on some maps. I'm running Debian with the latest kernel.. the latest beta for the hdls server.. the patched NS server on a p4 1.7 Ghz w/384Mb and a 100mb network connection. For some reason though when I play maps like "nothing" with 12 ppl on I get like 70-98%+ cpu utilization.. I love this mod but I also need to run some other dedicated servers for other mods on this box.. and I can't do that until I get my performance up on the box.. any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    you need more ram. I have 1Gb and i have like 10mb free. i run a DS too but its all about the maps. I disabled the crappy maps ns_hera and ns_bast. Although i enjoy these maps, u can't enjoy them with 400ms pings. *sigh* oh well. until the next patch i guess.
  • BrutusBrutus Join Date: 2002-10-20 Member: 1555Members
    I am running a P4 2ghz, 1ghz ram 16 player server and my memory is at 431MB used on ns_caged. I think CPU is the main factor on most servers and the amount / type of memory takes a back seat to that. (After 512mb that is. I think 512 is the minimum).
  • SuicideDogSuicideDog Join Date: 2002-11-10 Member: 8104Members
    On my 12 person server I'm not really even hitting the swap.. I have to upgrade the dang processor!! hehe and pray for a patch that will (for the love of all things sacred to geeks) have like a 200% performance increase.
  • TheiggstaTheiggsta Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 6958Members, Constellation
    Ever since I ripped nancy, caged and bast from the regular rotation, 30's and 40's in CPU usage, no complaints yet.

    That coupled with an mp_timelimit 30 works perfectly as well as votepercentneeded to .75

    So far so good, ill keep you informed if I figure out anything...

    -iggy
    (Pointblank)
  • HukkaHukka Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 6989Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Ganonn+Nov 9 2002, 06:13 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Ganonn @ Nov 9 2002, 06:13 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I don't mind even a 400 ping so long as my response times are the same as everyone else.

    Many 16 player servers I've found are hit bad by this, I think they are just trying to overwork their CPU without thinking about what the effect will be on the game and they ignore the fact that it DOES make a difference if their server will handle less players better.

    The good servers are already starting to become obvious by the simple fact that they're full all the time.

    PS: Keep up the good work admins, you make the entire experience enjoyable with your constant work at improving what is already going. <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I have 18 player server without ping or lag problems.. <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->

    amd 2000 xp+ with 512mb linux server <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • MarlboroMarlboro Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2585Members
    I personally think it's kind of insane. I have a Linux server that we normally use at LANs, racked into a 2U case and an extra stick of RAM thrown in for good measure. It's a TBird 900 (Most of my servers tend to be composed of gaming rig's I've retired), and had no problem running both a full 20 player CS game and a NWN game at our LANs. I throw it up on the internet with Natural Selection, wham. 12 player server, regularly 85-95% util when full. I know the game is complex, but, sheesh! Looks like my personal gaming rig would be hard-pressed to run a 18 player server.
  • MisfireMisfire Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 5764Members
    i don't get why these maps are using so much CPU power, even mroe complex games with enormus maps don't use this much.

    Svencoop with monsters on the whole map doesn't even do this much

    and other games................

    but great mod, really enjoy it on maps that don't lag.

    ns_nancy, ns_eclispe, and i think nothing runs great for me while playing and running server on same system.

    I run a cs, sc server but i can't do that now. <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • yashayasha Join Date: 2002-11-13 Member: 8472Members
    My linux server is a dual p3 933 w/ 2GB ram. A 16 player server seems to be about all that is possible with hlds's lack of smp support, otherwise it just gets bogged down (during gameplay cpu usage stays is . As a rule I've been resorting to using a different machine for larger matches: an athlon xp 1700 w/ 512 MB ram. It seems to hold up just fine even with much greater load (up to ~20 players), though it is much less stable (not running linux).
  • MerkabaMerkaba Digital Harmony Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 22Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester
    <!--QuoteBegin--Kilmster+Nov 9 2002, 04:01 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Kilmster @ Nov 9 2002, 04:01 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Right on flayra, well you do what you can to reduce as much cpu utilization as possible.

    Right now i'm running 10 players on hera with 50% utilization, which is manageable; but if I filled up to 16 players, than it would probably be nuts.

    I rather like hera too.... <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo--><!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Hurrah, it's nice to hear that amongst all the complaints that its too laggy! For the record, I dislike the HL engine right now.
  • TheiggstaTheiggsta Join Date: 2002-11-05 Member: 6958Members, Constellation
    <b>Update</b>
    Nano now runs the latest AdminMOD (due to 1.02b patch) and its contributing about 10 to 20% more CPU loads and currently runs in the neighborhood of 60 to 65% on a full 16 player server.

    As for the best kernel to run, nano runs on 2.4.19 now and its dropped the loads down about 5 to 10% more than its usual 80's and higher loads. With some tweaking I bet it could be lower, but only if Leon Hartwig of VALVe woudl get off his lazy butt and make HLDS linux native (Multi-Threading and SMP support) this would'nt be such a problem right away.

    ill keep you informed as usual about nanos changes and things I come across.

    -Theiggsta
    (Pointblank)
  • FlayraFlayra Game Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment San Francisco Join Date: 2002-01-22 Member: 3Super Administrators, NS2 Developer, Subnautica Developer
    Just so everyone knows, I'm actively working on the CPU usage problem. I've found the problem (the exact line) but believe it or not, the fix is still not simple. I've spent days on this, even with a friend (Citixen) helping, and it's utterly confounding. I'm hoping for a breakthrough today.

    If I can fix the problem, you'll see CS-like performance in NS.... :)
Sign In or Register to comment.