Hit Detection?

Comments

• ArmadonRKArmadonRK Join Date: 2005-01-24 Member: 37926Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited January 2011
    <!--quoteo(post=1821112:date=Jan 3 2011, 03:23 AM:name=zex)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (zex @ Jan 3 2011, 03:23 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1821112"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Your framerate does not affect the server update rate. Your videos reach large numbers of people, it is important that your commentary does not misrepresent what you are recording.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

This is false. It's possible you misunderstood what NS2HD was saying, or you're simply misinformed. The download rate from the server to the client is not affected by clientside FPS, but the update rate from the client to the server is absolutely limited by your framerate. The alternative is for the client to send information it doesn't have, ie, information it made up, ie, interpolated data. I am not a coder or a programmer, and I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the Spark engine, but given my experience with netcode in other games, I'm going to go ahead and say that it doesn't happen.