Fades Need A Stealth Penalty

13»

Comments

• bobrunbobrun Join Date: 2012-03-06 Member: 148235Members
    Hey, noob here taking on the fades!

I like what ScardyBob said, because it is usually what happens. Fades can be killed, it is just that early in the game, I would say that they take too much "human resources" to counter them. You're still trying to expand, and you need marines to build, you lack defensives options (turrets, phase gates, armory) in strategic places, but you need to focus everything on fades, because you lack tools to counter them. All the time you take to fight fades, marines get late in their development, while aliens can continue their expansion with a lot less of problems.

Marines needs a tool to limit fades early, because at that time, they don't have flame/phase gate/jetpack that counter fades. A simple solution would be to make fades vulnerable to mines. I see too often a doorway protected by mines, only to see a fade come through, exploding all the mines without getting any damage and opening the way for the rest of the aliens. What's the point of putting mines if you can remove all of them without any consequences? Make them explode in their time-teleporting ######, and I think it would solve a big part of the problem. Fades stay the same, Marines also, and mines does the job they are really supposed to do.

Gorge used to remove mines at a distance is a great option that enhance that class. Fades used to remove mines instantly seem like a cheap trick that remove values for Gorge, and annihilate completely an honorable defense option for marines.
  • GORGEousGORGEous Join Date: 2012-02-19 Member: 146762Members, NS2 Map Tester
    <!--quoteo(post=1911730:date=Mar 9 2012, 08:34 PM:name=bobrun)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (bobrun @ Mar 9 2012, 08:34 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1911730"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Hey, noob here taking on the fades!